Unrelenting officers, unrelenting sun, unrelenting flies (Part 2)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
November 15th 2009
Published: December 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After spending one whole day walking and being pestered by flies non-stop on the previous day (refer to Part 1), I decided to give myself more sleep today. Instead of waking up at 6am (which I normally do for most trips), I woke up at 8am.

In the morning I explored Downtown Perth and King's Park. At noon, I decided to take a bus out of King's Park, but annoyingly, the roads in King's Park were under upgrading works and there were no bus services to/from King's Park. In the end I decided to walk all the way to Subiaco (and ended up being pestered by flies along the way). In Subiaco, I visited the famous Station Street Market, and bought a couple of French pastries for lunch... (I ate a "Far Breton" in Rennes last year, and it's kinda surreal to experience the same taste again, 14500km away from Rennes...)

In the afternoon, I took a train to Guildford, a small town in the scenic Swan Valley and the first western settlement in Western Australia. After a walking tour of the historic town (again accompanied by a "storm" of flies), I took a train to Midland, the last station of the Midland line. I wanted to visit the Midland Gate Shopping Centre, one of the largest malls in Western Australia. However, the mall was closed when I arrived, because it was a Sunday. (Most shops in Perth were closed on Sundays... What a pity.) In the end I visited a nearby supermarket which is open 7 days a week, and bought a couple of packets of Tim Tam.

In the late afternoon I returned to Downtown Perth and took a short walk around Northbridge. Then I returned to my hostel, collected my baggage, and boarded the shuttle to the airport. I arrived at the airport viewing gallery just in time to catch the sunset. My flight departed Perth at around 9pm, and here ended my 2-day weekend break to my 2nd destination in the Southern Hemisphere (after Jakarta).


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Old Court HouseOld Court House
Old Court House

The oldest building in WA


Tot: 0.725s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.4869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb