Team Underground and the Smiles - 6 weeks in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
April 10th 2009
Published: May 12th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Oh Black betteys bang a lang!

So after spending the night freezing in Perth airport got a cab around 8 an drove to a hostel recommended on the net underground backpackers! Met here but a lovely lady Kylie who immediately got me a days albouring work, got ripped off though after working like a dog for 9 hurs got paid $100! So told him id be there the enext moringi and left him hanging the bastard! The day after though chilling in my dorm bed started work wiyth 7 other lads for a company called 2020 construction clearing out a unit of office furniture. We all had a good laugh apart from that I didnt get paid for the six weeks work I did just before I left perth the bastards!

Life in the hostel was mainly poker and a bit of footy after work and had a lot of good banter with the lads especially my mates dave and richy-boy. Perth didnt offer particlalry much in comparison to Melbourne or Sydney for me however I didnt stay there as long and only ventured as far as Northbridge like the skanky kings cross of Sydney. Though Cottelsloe Beach was beautiful. Also had a wicked day down Rottnest with some good friends on the bikes. Freemantle was also much prettier than Perth had some nice days down there. Also Stones do the 4th best pizza in thew world which was stooooopa! Had a distugusting mexican and an ace one down freo.

After going nuts after a year travelling I was ready to chill abit in Perth save some coin for future travels, however fridays in Black bettys $11 all you can drink for two hours and normally would be smashed by the time I left the hostel and nights in rise ment the bank balance was dwindling not being paid by 2020 forcing me to go into the last of my savings.

THe highlight of my Perth stay though was meeting an ace girl in Perth young Sallypants who was the bright spark of my time in Perth. Met her out in Northbridge and we chilled for a month going out before I left which was ace to have some ace regular female company after pissing around for the last year. She was beautiful smart and a great laugh loved gelati cooked a mean stir fry and liked many of the same things as me and listened to my waffling! It was a real wrentch when I got offered a job to travel the west coast with the carnival. We were having an ace time but I'd become tired of the boozy nights of Perth watching my money slip down glass after glass and needed to save to continue to travel. The job market wasnt great in Perth either because of the economic climate and applying for job after job was getting me down while at the hostel everyone drank and lazed around.

It was a great opportunity but meant gambling on the first really super ace girl I'd met in a while. My head throbbed for a week two-in-and frowing of what to do I didnt want to lose her but the carnival allowed me to travel and save. Also Sal had literally just come out of a major relationship and I think needed some time to herself. In the end I went with her blessing hoping it will all work out and a nice trip to Bali in the end of my 13 week stint!

So my time in Perth......... I loved it because of the people not so much the place. Made some real good friends there and of course Sal. Enjoyed after a year of travelling just chilling in bed watching dvds and doing nothing in particluar down the beaches was a really ace time. Im off to the carnival now as a carnie hahaha! By the end of it seeing the west coast, having the cash to travel on with Sal. Going to be along 3 months away hope we get through but only time will tell! Been away nearly a year miss you all (especially you smiles) but in the words of a famous bob

dont think twice its alright!

Till the next time

Tammy (in the words of Al)

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

PS no photos again didnt buy a new camera until just before I left as the money didnt come through my bad defo will get the west coast carnies up!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.023s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb