Landed in Perth


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
August 16th 2008
Published: August 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, my last day in Sydney, I made it to the Australian Museum (http://www.austmus.gov.au/) which was interesting, but also a little strange. There was an amazing exhibit of Western Australian Aboriginal art from the Papunya people. The exhibit was very well done with some massive paintings and a wide variety of artists as well as an interesting documentary about the artists (who relocated to their aboriginal lands to start an art collective).

The next morning (reallllly early), I left the hotel for my 5 hour flight to Perth. I arrived around 11:10 am Perth time and have been going non-stop for the last couple of days. The Edith Cowan University folks had me on a whirlwind of tours, meetings, meals, discussion groups and then finally my talk and panel discussion for the last two days. They have been feeding me very well though 😊 We went to some beautiful restaurants with gorgeous views of the Swann River. Perth is much bigger than I expected. I think they said about 2 million people live in this area and it's really spread out. I am staying at the Hilton in the Central Business District so right downtown with easy access to the river and King's Park (which is a massive park with a botanical garden, etc.). Andy and Val and their friend from Australia, Paul Maj, took me out for a little post talk dinner at a great restaurant called Fraser's. I had a really local fish - Barramundi - with a mushroom rissotto - and pear, parmesan, rocket salad (rocket is their version of lettuce that has quite a bite to it). The food and housing here are crazy expensive. They have had a mining boom in this area so prices are through the roof.

I didn't take any photos yet in Perth. I was so busy that I forgot. So will just post the one from the Papunya exhibit. It is now Sunday morning here (Saturday night in the states) and I am going to take it easy today and walk around the CBD and along the river. Nothing too strenuous as really wiped out.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.3kb