Final Leg of Australia!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
June 1st 2007
Published: June 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Botanical Gardens AdelaideBotanical Gardens AdelaideBotanical Gardens Adelaide

They are very pretty in winter! They had some interesting looking trees though!
Well, we arrived in Adelaide pretty early (still covered in red dust!), and had 2 full days there, which I think was enough! it is a nice place though, and I think it was better because we found some really nice shops (I found a necklace for $100 and it was the hardest thing stopping myself buying it!) lol! it was bloody freezing though and the shorts are now away until Thailand! IN the 2 days we did a city walk and then spent half the day in the Botanical gardens, which Laura and I always seem to do, but these were definitely the nicest in Aus and were all pretty and autumnal, which meant I could also try the autumn and greenery settings on my new camera lol!

Anyway, for some reason we decided we wanted to watch the FA cup in the pub, even though we have no interest generally, and ended up watching it with a load of Dutch guys and some old guy who had lived in aus for 40 years but was a die hard man u fan, although for some reason he thought I knew about football, when we all know I only
Watching the footballWatching the footballWatching the football

It was very busy!
know what Ben tells me!! It was a funny night though, and i think all the English in Adelaide were in that pub!!

The best thing about Adelaide though was that in our hostel every night at 8.05, you got free hot apple pie and ice cream, it was so good! I think i could have eaten a whole pie!!

The it was a flight to Perth, which was really fun! We met up with Ryan who is staying with his Aunt and Uncle there, and we hired a car and drove down to Margaret River about 4 hours south of Perth, which is packed full of wineries and chocolate factories and cheese factories etc! I got far too excited in the chocolate factory, I know because I actually felt my eyes widen when I saw it being made! The whole are was really pretty though and the beaches were lovely (although windy and overcast!), and it was really fun to have the freedom of a road trip! Then when we came back we stayed with Lauras cousins for a few days ! they were really lovely, and actually had the craziest dog I have ever met! He
Flying to PerthFlying to PerthFlying to Perth

Just thought this was a cool photo!
was absolutely mad (Lauras birkenstocks never made it back!) but then he would look at you all puppyish and you couldn't really be angry! lol! It was so nice to have home comforts as well, and not wearing flip flops in the shower and having our own rooms!

We also went to a night tour of Freemantle prison which closed in 1991, and that was scary!! It was originally built for convicts and then later used for prisoners, and even when it closed, it still didnt have flushing toilets! but its haunted and I was really scared, being the wimp I am with theses sorts of things! lol! We went through the different cell blocks and walked to the other levels to look at particular cells and through other cells, it was crazy!! it just had a really creepy feel, I was too scared to take a photo in case something flashed up in it, and in a few of lauras photos there are some very spookey glows! We also went to the Gallows where they had the room set up, with the Noose and chair and all, and that was creepy, I wouldn't stand too close to it!
PerthPerthPerth

View from the botanical gardens!
But was tour was well worth it!!

From Perth it was back to Melbourne where we are just waiting for Auckland on the 3rd! very very excited now!!!

so that completes the Oz Tour! It has been awesome, and I cant believe I have been away for 4 months already!

Hope everyone is enjoying home as it is getting warmer, I'm off to get my scarf and gloves!!

luc x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Freemantle PrisonFreemantle Prison
Freemantle Prison

This was the front, I was too scared to take photos inside!
Ningli CavesNingli Caves
Ningli Caves

we found them on the way to Margaret River, it was really cramped at times and I hit my head and got a lump! lol! Apparently the trip round (that took us about an hour) used to take 7 hours!
WineriesWineries
Wineries

It was cool, but we were too scared to try loads of different wineries because we couldn't afford to buy much wine! lol! in NZ though, we will do it properly!
Margaret River Margaret River
Margaret River

The whole area around Margaret River is gorgeous, and the beaches are meant to be really lovely, but it was wet and windy when we were there!
Well earned break!Well earned break!
Well earned break!

lol, well not really, but we drove 650km in 1 1/2 days overall!


6th June 2007

Wimp!
Scared?.....of an empty prison? Love the sunset photo. Dad xx

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0868s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb