Sorry I havnt blogged for a while.....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
February 17th 2007
Published: February 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hey all, sorry I havn’t blogged for a while, but havn’t really been up to much. Just looking for a job mainly…which I now have…yippee. Me and Nat are now trainee room attendants (housekeepers) we had an interview on Monday (well technically I had the interview and Nat while she was there filled out an application form too!) Which was just as well really because they rang on Tuesday to say we had got it, this led to a guilt free day of sunbathing, as we were employed and didn’t really have to be doing anything.

A phone call on Wednesday asking if we could work on Thursday morning (our induction was Thursday afternoon!) led to a mad dash to the shops in search of a uniform…black trousers shoes and white top were a lot more difficult to find than anticipated, with half an hour til the shops closed the outfits were complete.

Early morning start on Thursday for us, we hadn’t been rising since 10ish most days so 6:45am was slightly too early especially as it was dark and cold when you got out the shower (I hate that feeling).

Anyway we got to work on time to be handed large blue shirts (no need for the white tops we spent ages finding the previous day!!) After changing into the blue shirts we really did think we looked about 12 and on our way to school, to get the picture, when I looked in my collar my shirt was a size 18!! I’m usually an 8!! It was quite cool though (in the temperature sense not style wise!!), but if I stood too close to the air con machines I’m sure I felt my feet lift off the floor with the updraft as my shirt bellowed out!!

Anyway we got to grips with bed making, hospital corners and the right order of sheets and things. Along with hoovering, dusting (please check skirting boards, headboards and picture frames in your next hotel rooms-just so I don’t think I’m cleaning them in vain!).
Day one was over, it was a lot harder then expected and new shoes were not being nice to my feet!! Anyway, a little achey we agreed to go back the next day….

Day 2…sat at the breakfast table..looked down at my brand new trousers (only second time they had been worn) to find a big gapping hole down one of the seams!! With 10minutes to spare before the train I grabbed my emergency sewing kit (I knew I’d use it one day!!) and stitched the hole up..pheww…bit too close for my liking though, good job I noticed when I did! (I changed them that day for a new pair). Anyway with stitched up trousers it was day 2 and bathrooms….anyone with long hair please think of who has to clean up after you!! I myself molt like a long haired cat (surprised I have any hair on my head left!) So I felt very guilty leaving hair in bathrooms across Thailand. Malaysia and Singapore after I had to clean up a few…nightmare! Also a tip, which most of you will know, make sure your shampoo and things are not on the amenity tray in the bathroom even if you havn’t used them, that way it has to get re-filled, so you get double 😊.

Today I had my first taste of pushing the trolley! I needed about 10minutes to recover, didn’t know linen was so heavy! I was practically face down on the carpet trying to push it (I hope it gets easier!!) and when I have to take my little Henry hoover with me…I just don’t want to have to think about that 😊.

As jobs go it isn’t too bad, not yet anyway and I think I’ll be a very happy being a room attendant..just think of the money that’s what I’m thinking 😊.

Hope everyones well, speak to you all soon, bye for now x x x




Advertisement



18th February 2007

Hello room attendant
Hiya, glad you are well and have found a job. Sounds like you're having fun :S haha. What type of hotel you work for? I'm not having a great time of it at the mo. Andy got rushed to north tees on thurs night cos he had gastroenteritis (or so our local doc had sed!) He got put in intensive care on fri so was attached to lots of beeping machines and was covered with tubes, etc. Yesterday the docs found summat growing in his blood and it was confirmed to b MRSA and worst of all, it was attacking his heart (which is already weak enough!) Got transferred to the Freeman in newcastle yesterday by ambulance and is now in their coronary care unit. He's attached to loads of machines again and oxygen cos he's having breathing difficulties. As you can imagine i'm knackered and worried sick! Will keep you updated as much as i can. Speak soon, xxx
20th February 2007

Yay..uve got jobs!
Hiya..love reading ur blogs! Its good to hear uve finally got jobs even tho it does sound like hard work im sure ur location helps with that a lil bit lol! Not much has happened in my lil world lol...apart fro workin hard n going out quite a bit...oh well makin the most of bn single lol Keep avin fun n workin hard n most importantly keep bloggin! lol Take care miss u both loads Love me xxxxxxxxx
21st February 2007

hello house keeping.....................
..................oh sorry didnt think you were busy!! haha you might see some nice sights! lol. Well like I said to Nat, cant imagine you cleaning the toilets. Least you found a job though, money is money!! Haha look at me saying that. My money is getting less and less and less and less, near to -£1000!!! Whooops. Got ages to go till new loan come in aswell, even then it wont take me back to £0! Uni is going k, just plodding on and getting it done, going in everyday and just draw draw till bout 7. Will get this 1st even if it kills me! Be gutted if I dont get one. Still sounds like your having fun though, will have to keep hotel rooms tidy now! Will do everything nice to make it easy for you cleaners! Keep have fun and scrub those toilets. Love Me xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0657s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb