Cup Final Fever


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth
May 28th 2005
Published: June 8th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Heads Up!Heads Up!Heads Up!

Fiona heads straight for me, and the camera. No harm done.
We (I) were (was) getting excited about the cup final and wanted nothing more to go and kick a ball about the park and pretend I was Dave Narey, Andy Gray, Craig Brewster, Davey Dodds and Ralph Milne rolled into one, Fiona was excited by the prospect as she's never kicked a ball in anger before, and what better teacher than the 2000 European University Championship (joint) top scorer? And the scorer of the most amazing goal the Gussie Park has ever seen, some swear it was from in my own half, with my back to goal, against the wind, with bare feet, anyway both these people are me.

It was a beutiful Morning, about 28 degrees and felt a helluvalot hotter due to the amount of alcohol that we got through on the Friday night, bottles of water at the ready we set out along the waterfront to park. There's pretty much a park around every corner here, huge open spaces and never really a lot of people around, the odd dog walker and that but never loads of people crowding for a blade of grass a la Balgay Park etc.

So we found a huge play area
III

can you do this trick? A run over, flick the ball behind you, all while playing air-guitar!!
and got down to training, I made Fiona do three lengths of the pitch and a few stretches while I got myself a lager shandy to perk myself up a bit, sweet. So after the warm-up we practised heading, dribbling and shooting, we even got as far as keepie-uppie, Fiona was keen and I honed her skills no end, we're still not sure if she's a left or right footer, we'll need another few sessions to decipher that.

Anyway the tackles were flying and I was covered in bruises by the end of it but it was all in the name of fun (Fiona assures me), and to keep fit, beats Yoga-Lates or whatever they call it these days anyway, I'm sure I told Fiona that if she could save one of my penalties I'd go to Yoga with her, thankfully she never saved one. They do still take penalties from 4 yards with 30 feet goals don't they?

Until the next time.

Roy and Racquel of the Rovers


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Fiona does Keepy-uppyFiona does Keepy-uppy
Fiona does Keepy-uppy

1031, 1032,1033
The perfect overhead kickThe perfect overhead kick
The perfect overhead kick

Set it up..........
Lean backLean back
Lean back

keep your eyes on the ball..........
Swing like a mad manSwing like a mad man
Swing like a mad man

and hope that you connect
before falling on your arsebefore falling on your arse
before falling on your arse

in a crumpled heap
She shoots, She shoots,
She shoots,

she scores!!
trap it with the righttrap it with the right
trap it with the right

and pass it with the left
Nuts!Nuts!
Nuts!

Oh oh oh monkey nuts.


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0254s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb