Itinerary and Budget Planning


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » Swan Valley
July 24th 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

On the 21st. of August the Western Australians taking part in the Black Dog Ride to the Red Centre organised to raise funds and awareness of depression by The Red Dog Foundation, will require us to ride in excess of 3,600 Kilometres over six days. Once the group has broken up in Alice Springs my ride on to Sydney, south to Melbourne then back home to Perth will become a lot more leisurely with no set time table. If the weather is not suitable for riding I'll just sit tight until fine weather returns.

While in the Red Centre I will be climbing Uluru, something I have always wanted the chance to do. From there I will be riding to Broken Hill spending a few days sight seeing before heading east toward Sydney. Riding through Bathurst, I will take the opportunity to do a lap of the famous circuit, how could I pass on that?

Further east I spend a few days exploring the Blue Mountains then on to Sydney with only one goal in mind that is, of course, to climb the Sydney Harbour Bridge. It will be spectacular.

Leaving Sydney, I will be off to Canberra as I especially want to visit the Australian Warm Memorial. After a few days in our Capital city its back up over the Great Dividing Range, why I hear you ask? BECAUSE IT IS THERE. Great riding taking me back to the coast at Batemans Bay.

After a meal or four of fresh oysters it will be time to get back on the scooter, crossing the border into Victoria with me staying the night in Lakes Entrance. From Lakes Entrance I will make my way down the Princes Highway then back up onto the Great Dividing Range to the old gold mining town of Walhalla. Having a great interest in Genealogy, Walhalla was where all of my GG Grandparents, on my mother's side, settled once they had immigrated from England, Scotland and Sweden. This will give me the chance to take photographs of many tombstones as well as the country around this very pretty part of Victoria.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0301s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb