Welcome to Perth!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Perth » South Perth
August 7th 2013
Published: August 7th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Oy Mate!



I have been here in the Outback for about a week and a half, but am just now getting around to writing because things have been so crazy. After my 32 hour trek, I decided a nice long sleep was required as soon as I got here, so I unpacked and did just that. The following days after that were filled with an abundance of new faces, new sights, and new everything. A lot of the people here at Curtin University, which is where I am studying, are international, so for the first few days I met a large number of non-Australian students. Since it was still the Aussie’s winter break, a lot of them were still away on vacation. I came here expecting to go to school with mostly Australians but it’s actually really cool to be friends with people from all over the world and not just Australia. It’s interesting to learn about other cultures ways of doing things and habits. For instance Australians, Americans, and British all have the same word aluminum, but Americans pronounce it differently than the other two. There are other words too that the Brits say differently or the Aussies, and it’s really quite interesting to have a conversation with people from different cultures.



Since I have been here I haven’t done much exploring. We went into the city a couple times and that was fun, but for the most part it’s just been about socialization and getting acquainted with the area and everyone here. It’s been fun though. We have had plenty of good laughs and I have already made friends that I know I will have for a lifetime. Classes are starting this week so I’m sure the socializing will calm down a bit and I will have more time to venture out and do things, which I’m really excited for. Western Australia is very remote but there are tons of things to do and see around the area so I’m really excited for it.



I intend to keep this updated as much as possible and will definitely inform you of all the exciting adventures I plan on having during my 5 month stay in this gorgeous country. That’s it for now!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0749s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb