My Trip to Wonderful Kununurra


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kununurra
August 14th 2015
Published: August 14th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I've happily explored a good part of eastern Australia, but I've never had the opportunity to check out what's what on the western part of my magnificent country. Over the past year, a couple of friends of mine did venture out west, and they came back raving about a little place in the northern part of the region called Kununurra and Lake Argyle, the beautiful body of water the town sits close to. So, for my birthday, I decided to make a weekend trip to Kununurraa present to myself.

I flew Qantus to nearby Broome, then a local puddle jumper took me directly to Kununurra Airport where I easily did a car hire ( all major car rental depots in Kununurra listed here carhirekununurra.net.au . As I drove into the small town of about 6000, I thought hour an eight hour flight can make you feel like you've arrived on another planet. The country side is just visually stunning; the setting sun illuminated an ancient rock formation I could see in the distance reminding me of how diverse Australia really is. Once I found my lakeside cabin rental, I fell into bed and slept like a baby.

The next morning, I downed a cup of strong coffee at the a cafe as I considered my day in prospect. Mindful of my resolution to get more exercise, I rented a bicycle, from a nearby bike shop, and sat out on my mission of discovery. I road my bike to the visitor center to get my bearings, and to get an idea of some places to check out. From the diversity of pamphlets on display, I could see Kununurra has plenty of things to do, and it was also clear Lake Argyle is a big part of Kununurra tourism. Fishing, boating and swimming looked to be some of the favored activities. Also among the Kununurra attractions on display were the rock formations, art galleries and hiking and biking trails. Since I was on a bike, I stuck a biking map in may backpack and headed toward the lake. If you want to find out what to do in Kununurra, it's a must to stop by the visitor center.

After biking my way around a small stretch of the lake, I ended up at the Lily Lagoon on the Ord River, the major tributary of the lake. I happened to be in time to snag a place on a charter boat that was setting out on a tour of the waterways. As a bonus, delicious barbecue was served as we took in the wondrous spectacle of the lake scenery. The barbecue went down extremely well as I had managed to work up quite an appetite pedaling around the lake. When I got back into town, I stopped by the very pleasant bar at the Hotel Kununurra for a refreshing beer, with the hopes it would replenish the aching muscles in my legs. The beer always tastes better when you feel you've earned it.

As it turned out, I spent the vast majority of my time on, in and around Lake Argyle. But there are plenty of things to do in Kununurra, and I feel as if I've only scratched the surface. My only regret of the whole trip was, I simply ran out of time. Naturally, I've already started planning for my next trip to lovely Kununurra.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0784s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb