The Open Road


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Kalbarri
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Travels since 2nd Dec 2007


Brian suggested a blog before I left so I thought I'd investigate and it seems like a good idea so here I go.
I started in Perth 4 weeks ago and spent some time down in Margaret River trying out the camper. Then I set off for my big circle trip north up the coast of WA then through NT to Darwin and of course down the middle to the big red rock and back to Perth via Adelaide and SA.

I'm currently in Kalbarri and there is plenty to do here. I've booked onto loads of day trips including a river cruise, sand boarding (can't wait for that, it's like snow boarding but on sand), abseiling in the famous Z-bend gorge at Kalbarri National Park and a helicopter flight over the national park and along the amazingly beautiful cliffs. So an action packed few days ahead of me.

It's really quiet here as next weekend is Easter so the campsite I'm on is pretty much empty except for the 22 Macedonian pensioners on a tour of Auz. Woo hoo it's all party party party here. Did go out the the local bar last night and watched a local band play and watch some of the local youths getting smashed...oh I do love small towns. I think someone told me the population is about 1200 people so it really is a small town.

So far I have driven nearly 1000km and some of the scenery has been breath taking, especially the road from Northampton to Kalbarri. The bush land, desert and just the sheer vastness is amazing and the road into kalbarri is a 6k road along the cliff tops looking down over crystal clear waters with stretching sandy bays. I can't get over that I've only been travelling for 3 days as I have seen so much already.

My next stop is Monkey Mia for the dolphins but I'm reluctant to arrive there for the Easter weekend along with everybody else in WA so I may go up earlier or hang around here a bit longer. There is a really famous surf spot called Jacques Point (pronounced Jake's?!) here that seems to pull in the surfers so staying around for the bank holiday may not be such a bad idea...he he he.

There is so much to do on this western coast that I should have plenty to write about in the next few weeks so keep an eye on my blog and I will try and keep it up dated with info and photo's.


Kalbarri

Well the extreme sports stuff keeps being put back as i'm the only person under 35 in Kalbarri so I went on a nice boat trip up the river today. Saw my first dolphin...which was nice. Loads of roo's and bird of prey then had the best fish supper ever..,ever. Gots some great pics of the sun set too. Hoping to get on the helicopter flight tomorrow over the gorges but my have to do a sunset one due to lack of numbers. The abseiling should go ahead on weds...fingers crossed!



Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



18th March 2008

you are one crazy girl, and i am very jealous!
hey possum, its beautiful to read your adventures as you go, this way i can keep tabs on you and know you are ok! i think staying where the surfers are is a brilliant idea, might fly myself up there for the easter break now that you mention it... haha... please be safe, let me know if you need anything posted up or.. i dont know! crazy crazy girl. i miss you! Ella
19th March 2008

Why is it not painted pink. I fell let down. Paint your wagon. Miss you love Dad
26th March 2008

Would love to...
but I can't. It's rented and I have to give it back. If I paint it pink they will charge me $2000!! (That's about 950 quid) I was going to rent one from a company called Wicked and there vans are all painted with everything you could imagin but they're so popular that I couldn't get one for 4 weeks. I am going to try and get one when i travel the east coast in July so stay tuned. Glad you can see my blog. Love Sxx

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0457s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb