1st week in Western Australia


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Fremantle
May 24th 2005
Published: May 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Kings Park, PerthKings Park, PerthKings Park, Perth

22.05.05 The Tree Top Walk...
Hey hey peeps...

How are you going? (That's what they say here in Oz!)

After a glorious week in Sydney, where weather is currently as unpredictably sunny/rainy as home... I was well looked after by June, Lauren and Andrew.

I completed my course of antibiotics before I flew to Perth and my ears were very well behaved throughout the journey. Having been collected by the hostel owner and granted a double room to myself for half the price, I wandered, hung out and prepared for the arrival of my loved one...

Saturday morning, I woke before my alarm, prepared myself and the array of fake petals and (real) roses across the bed and caught the airport shuttle bus to the airport. By the time I arrived, the driver and couple passengers knew my story and wished me luck in meeting James...

I arrived just after 8am and, having just missed him coming out of the gate, he came up behind me... it was a lovely reunion!

In the few days he has been here, we have bought some food and cooked, toured the town on the free buses, spent
DNA TowerDNA TowerDNA Tower

Kings Park, Perth
a day wandering the Kings Park... and moved to here - Fremantle. Oh and we've managed to fit a few mini arguments in there too! I've been pretty hormonal and maybe finding the adjustment more difficult than I expected.

We're staying in a cool hostel called The Old Firestation which has free internet, washing machines, pool and assists with finding jobs and bits, it's cool.

James is still trying to relax himself, having not stopped for the past 3 months... he doesn't yet seem to feel up to meeting new peeps but I guess it comes with time.

Today was his birthday and he says it's just another day but I tried to help him enjoy it. We ended up walking and touring the local history museum. A phonecall from his family set him into thought but we had a nice walk, watched the sunset and have just been for a lovely Mexican meal.

Friday is MY BIRTHDAY Woooooo!! Lucky I'm away eh - those of you who had forgotten!!!

We have paid for a week in this hostel and we wanna see the Prison (wanted to go at night
James' B'dayJames' B'dayJames' B'day

24/05/05 The Hostel info board... and the birthday boy!! :-)
but doesn't seem to be fitting into our drinking schedule), cycle round Rottnest Island and pop to Cottlesloe Bay... there's some group activity on Saturday so hopefully we'll be able to relax and keep busy!

Anyhoo... can't think of much else!

Lotsa love... til next time...

Debz xxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

South MoleSouth Mole
South Mole

24/05/05 Walking down South Mole... to the lighthouse.
James' bday sunset...James' bday sunset...
James' bday sunset...

24.05.05 Lighthouse on South Mole
James' 28th birthday!James' 28th birthday!
James' 28th birthday!

Time for thought... watching the sunset and (my first wild) dolphins from South Mole, Fremantle...
Mexican Kitchen!Mexican Kitchen!
Mexican Kitchen!

Mmmm Nachos on special... throw in a pitcher of Sangria... good shit! Happy Birthday honey!


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.022s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb