A cool and rainy day


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Esperance » munglilup
March 27th 2010
Published: March 27th 2010
Edit Blog Post

AN EXPERANCE EXPERIENCE
The day dawned gray and misty but I prepared for a great sunny day anyway. The plan was to take a catamaran morning cruise around the islands of the Rechmerche Archipelago to see the seals, sea lions and birds. Then to Woody Island for morning tea, a bushwalk, lunch, snorkel and back to the ship at 4:00. I prepared with snorkel gear, towel, sunscreen and towel.
What I needed was a jacket, umbrella and a warm sweater. It rained, no it poured on the way out to Woody. The water was choppy and some folks were a little green. Thank goodness I was fine. We saw some New Zealand Seal and Australian Sea Lions four times their size.
Crested terns fished and we saw two magnificent birds, the White Bellied Sea Eagle and the endangered Cape Barren Goose. Wet and chilled we landed at Woody and sat down to a welcome morning tea.
Woody Island is a nature preserve and the only island in the archipelago without snakes. This is fine with me. I headed out into the bush with 100 of my best friends but soon split off to join Mary and Tom, my trivia team mates. Both are avid birders and Tom is a published bird photographer. They took me under their wings and off we went. We soon spotted a New Holland Honeyeater, then two, then a whole flock. They are neat birds with a black and white stripped breast and a wispy little feathered beard and a bright yellow wing strip. While Tom soon took off for the far ends of the island Mary and I explored near the visitors center. There I a large campground where one can rent a tent. Latrines and a well-appointed kitchen are provided.
The weather was intermittent showers and large downpours that suited the locals fine as they are desperate for water. I borrowed an umbrella from Mary. Snorkeling was out of the question for Mary and me. After lunch we walked back to the campground kitchen and sat on the porch sheltered from the weather. My towel served as a jacket. Something I brought came in handy.
W made a good team. I would spot something moving and Mary would identify the species. The Honey Eaters were all around and a Golden Whistler made an appearance. We saw a silver eye and what may have been Spotted Pardalote. Mary saw a Sacred Kingfisher but all I saw was the streak of azure blue as he took flight.
This was all in the space of an hour. It was fun to watch with someone who got as excited as I even though she had been seriously birding for years.
We boarded the glass bottom boat trip and enjoyed the corals and grasses. The visibility was great and fish made their appearances. Nothing rare, just my old friends
As we walked to the jetty to leave a Welcome Swallow said goodbye.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb