Touch of Paradise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Derby
March 10th 2012
Published: March 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

When the alarm went off at 4am I have to admit that it was a struggle to raise my head, but I had a feeling it was going to be worth the effort.

Neroli and I packed our gear and headed out to the jetty for 5am. We met the guys, they had been there since 4.30 and were keen to get going.

As we headed out it was kind of strange to see the jetty from the water side. When the sun started climbing with all the pinks, purples and reds it was truly beautiful. The trip out into the blue water was pretty rough, but only by Derby standards, I hadn't taken a sea sickness tablet and didn't feel sick but maybe that was becasue I was riding up the front. Poor Neroli got pretty hammered by the water and ended up feeling pretty sick. She came good once we got out into the clamer waters though.

We got to our first 'desert island' around 8am. We pulled up for a bit of an explore. It was this tropical hideaway that was so pristine that you could have easily thought we were the first ones to ever set foot on it. We climbed up the rocks around the waterfall and the air smelt so clean and pure. It was heavenly, and that was only the beginning!

I won't go into all the other magical spots that we visited that day (mostly becasue you just can't explain stuff like this in words) but there were plenty. Every place seemed equally divine as the next and you just couldn't help but be amazed by it.

During the day I learned how to get clam meat and we watched the boys hunt for turtle (they all got away to my liking). We saw a big salty out there too but it stayed away which was a good thing. I also drove the boat and learnt how to 'trim'. Well, kind of.

We spent the last hour in this secret bay just sitting in the water drinking and soaking up every ounce of the beauty that was there. They say the Kimberly has magical waters and if you could have seen the places we went to, you would believe it too. I feel super lucky that I got to see these places and will remember them for the rest of my life.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Jigsaw pieceJigsaw piece
Jigsaw piece

In a magical place like this, I always knew I was going to find an extra special one.
Hunting TurtsHunting Turts
Hunting Turts

The one that got away
Clean airClean air
Clean air

This place smelt fantastic


Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb