Walking the Bibbulmun Track - Part 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Collie
October 26th 2023
Published: October 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Deja Vu - The Bibbulmun Track sign at CollieDeja Vu - The Bibbulmun Track sign at CollieDeja Vu - The Bibbulmun Track sign at Collie

Good feelings as I headed past this sign again. This time I would be heading North
As explained in my last post, I had decided to head back onto the Bibbulmun Track and complete another sectional hike. When I had returned from Perth late in 2022, I found that my wife required a knee operation. When she recovered from this, I booked a flight in April 2023 to Perth and back onto the track. Well in February 2023, I ended up in hospital and following an operation in April and subsequent injections into my neck to resolve shoulder pain, I headed back to Perth in late September 2023.

I decided to back fill sections of the track which I had missed and not confident in my fitness, planned to head to Collie and walk South to North, to Dwellingup and then go further North and exit the track at Sullivans Rock car park, where I had come off the track last year.

Collie to Harris Dam - So after overnighting in Collie after catching the train and bus down to Collie the previous day, I headed off to Harris Dam. It felt good to be back out walking again and heading onto the track. I passed the Bibbulmun track sign just out of Collie. This sign, leads you to the track, before either heading North or South.

The track was good and was it was nice to see the Black Cockatoos again. Nice to be out in the open air and in lovely country. About 4kms before I reached the Harris Dam Hut, I arrived at the Harris Dam Picnic area. This was a nice area, which had a barbacue area, toilets and more importantly, running water so I could refill my water bottles. I sat for a while, but was keen to kick on as the was my first day back on the track. Passing the Harris Dam was very pleasant and later some people asked me if you could camp there. I think the answer was no, but did not know.

Harris Dam - Yourdamung - After the previous days 23kms, todays hike was only 15kms. The track was again fine with lots of bushes overhanging the track. I did have a surprise when rounding a corner I saw a large puddle on the track and wallowing in the puddle was a family of feral pigs. I stopped and watched them and then they spotted me and the mother and babies bolted off. The father, had his back to me, but turned and looked at me before bolting off as well.

At the camp that evening, a lady had arrived and another hiker noticed that she had a large tick, I understand a kangaroo tick on her neck. Quite a nasty sight. He was well equipped, with an ice spray and after spraying the tick a few times, was able to remove it with tweezers. The general thought, was that the tick must have got onto her when she had brushed through the overhanging bushes. Who knows, but not very nice.

Yourdamung to Possum Springs - I was cautious going through the bushes which lined the track, but must admit they did make it look very nice. Arriving at Possum Springs hut, it was obviously a new hut, not made of wood but rammed earth I think. All night I could hear this sound which seemed like an engine running. I found out in the morning, that it was the conveyor belt from a near by bauxite mine.

Possum Springs to Dookanelly - I came across the conveyor belt, which by this time it was not operating. It seemed to run for miles. Just after passing under the conveyor belt, I came across some nice areas bordering the Murray River. These looked nice for wild camping, they didn't have any facilities but would have been nice for a swim.

I then came across the new suspension bridge over the Murray River. This was built in 2017, to replace the Long Gully Bridge which was destroyed in 2015. The bridge has a span of 82metres and was quite pleasant to walk over and then take a rest after crossing.

Dookanelly to Murray River - Was advised that when you got to the Murray Hut, you could have a swim. When I got to the Hut and tested the water, it was very cold, well to me it was ! The river was quite low and where you went in the river was also quite muddy and slippery. Decided just to have a wash and do some laundry, no detergents though. Some other people dedided to have a dip, good luck to them.

Quite a few more people started arriving and they seemed whilst not walking together to be hutting together. it became quite crowded and the
Harris Dam HutHarris Dam HutHarris Dam Hut

Back on the track and into the routine of sleeping in huts.
most people I had seen at the same time. The one thing I really enjoyed at this hut, were the Blue Wrens, the male of which was just stunning. Unfortunately, they moved very quickly and I was unable to get a photo of one, sorry.

Murray River to Swamp Oak - Got an early start and the track was good. However, it did contain quite a steep section, which was not zig zaged but straight up. Came across a seat, which was gratefully accepted and close by a tree, which had been named the Yarragil Hilton !! The climb was quite tough, but thankfully the temperature was not too hot.

Swamp Oak to Dwellingup - Spurred on by the thought of a shower, laundry and a burger, I set off on the 14.66kms day. I made good time and had booked into the Dwellingup Caravan Park into a Hikers accomodation. It was small, but had a double bunk and desk which I could use to organise myself for the next part of my trek. After booking myself into the Caravan Park, and picking up a box which included food that I had mailed to myself, a God send, I headed back into the town for a meal. I chose the Blue Wren Cafe and ordered a hamburger and chips. Wow, it was huge and came out with a knife through it to make sure it stayed together. It was so big that I could not eat it all, but it was lovely. Washed down with a cup of coffee. After restocking with some groceries at the local general store, I headed back to the Caravan Park, for a shower and laundry. I popped into the Visitor Centre which was really good and was able to buy some gas from the bicycle shop.

Now fed, washed and laundered, I had a great nights sleep.

Dwellingup to Chadoora - I first stopped at the Visitor Centre coffee shop for a nice coffee before heading off back on the trail. Trail was nice and followed the train track. After a while and just looking at the track, I thought I saw a rock move ? When I focused in, I realised it was an echidna. just nosing around. The track was good and I made good time. Arrived at the hut and met some really nice people and for the first time, we sat around a camp fire. Was really nice.

Chadoora to Mt Wells - I headed off and was told the track was flat but steep at the end. This was certainly true and I made good time, until I hit the last hill which was quite steep. I had been told that this campsite was not a hut like the rest but a house, Ok I would find out. I arrived at the hut first and had been told to take a small room at the front of the building which I did. The hut was indeed an old house, or should I say old weather station, which also had a viewing tower you could climb up.

Whilst I was sitting at the hut after having lunch a guy arrived and sat down with me. His name was Tom and he explained that he had walked form Gringer Creek that morning, a distance of 33kms and after having something to eat, was going to walk onto Chadoora, another 15kms !! So his day would be nearly 49kms !! He was then going to go into Dwellingup, come back to Chadoora, before heading back to
Possum Springs HutPossum Springs HutPossum Springs Hut

You can see the different costruction.
Gringer Creek the next day !!! Didn't see him again, but you meet some incredibley fit people on the track.

Early next morning whist we were having breakfast, a lady appeared having said she had camped down the hill. I thought I had recognised her and after a while, I remembered I had met her last year at Donnelly River, when she was on a Yo Yo trek and yes she was doing it again. I was in my room, when the door opened. It was this lady, and she apologised but looked under the bed. I asked her what she was looking for and she said there had been a large python sleeping there when she had passed through earlier in the year !!! Pleased I did not know that when I had bedded down for the night !!

Mt Wells to Whitehorse - The track was good, before heading up with a bit of rock scrambling to Boulder Rock. The view from there was good, but was quite a hot day. Arrived at Hut early and spent a casual afternoon. Three hikers who were coming from the North arrived and they were exhausted. Two of them were bike riders and had done the Minda Biddi, but were keen to say that this was much harder !! They had double hutted from Gringer Creek and with the temperature still high I could understand their exhaustion. They suggested that my day tomorrow would be tough, with two tough climbs.

Whitehorse to Gringer Creek - After receiving that feedback. I decided to head off early. The first part of the trek was quite steep, but I was going fine. Then on a flat section, I stubbed my left foot on and face planted into the brush, hitting my knee on something hard !! Like a turtle on its back, I somehow got myself up, brushed myself down and headed off again. I arrived at Gringer Creek quite early and decided whist it was hot, to keep going and do my first double hut since last year through to Nerang Hut.

Gringer Creek to Nerang - As commented, it was hot with a top of 37C degrees. I was however making good progress, with regular stops. A few days before, due to the heat, I had taken off the bottoms of my trousers, so to keep cool. This I enjoyed as it did help. However, at a rest stop, I looked down at my left leg and saw a kangaroo tick, well one similar to what I seen previously on my leg. I didn't have the ice spray or twizzers, so did wht I now know you don't do and knocked it off, which needed two hits. This worried me as I am not knowlegable on these things. Arrived at Nerang Hut after putting in a 34.66kms day, coupled with the high temperature, a tough day.

Nerang to Temporary Campsite - After pushing through to Nerang, the diversion was in place around Mt Cooke, due to burn offs. I was not clear on how long the day would be, so left late as thought I would be an easy day. Never underestimate your challenge !!

The first part of the days hike was good. Nice wide track, with a bit of shade, but temperature was very high again, in mid 30s. I arrived at the Mt Cooke diversion, which made you follow the power lines down to the highway. I was totally exposed to the heat, which I later found to be 37C degrees and met quite a few hikers going South, who were doing it tough. A couple of girls did not know of the diversion and I gave them my map so they would be OK.

I eventually found the Temporary Campsite, which had a Portaloo and some jerry cans of water. I put up my tent for the first time and bunkered down for the night although the noise from the traffic off the highway was loud.

Temporary Campsite to Sullivans Rock car park - I had not been able to get any transport from Sullivans Rock car park back to Perth, so thought I would head off early and see what might transpire. After about 5 and a half kms, I arrived at the car park, my end point. Just as I entered the car park a 4 wheel drive pulled up and the driver wound his window down. They advised that they were going up the track to open up the diversion !! I told them my plight and they advised that once they had cleared the track, they were heading back to the car park and would give me a lift to Armadale train station. They would be
Swamp Oak HutSwamp Oak HutSwamp Oak Hut

Not the Hilton for sure, but my place for the night
about 2 and a half hours. Great, yes please, now I have at least a plan. I decided to give hitchhiking a go, but it seemed fruitless. The strecth of road I was on had a 110km speed limit and whilst lots of people waved, none stopped. I gave myself 30 minutes as it was again getting very hot. Then after 25 minutes, a ute went past and about 200 metres stopped. He did a u turn and came back to me. I told him my plight and he said he would take me to Armadale train station. He was a young Kiwi, a sheep shearer and he was really pleasant. He dropped me off, right at the Armadale train station and I bought a ticket for the train, booked accomodation in Perth and was set.

I had completed 247.04 kms on the Bibbulmun Track, so now have completed 563.24 Kms, leaving me with about 450kms to go !!! I was really happy with what I did and again learned more about what to do and not to do. I will head back to Perth next year to complete the Bibbulmun Track. I met lots of people doing End
The Yarragil Hilton Tree. The Yarragil Hilton Tree. The Yarragil Hilton Tree.

A nice and well needed place to stop and rest on the climb up the hill
to Ends, one lady doing a Yo Yo, but this is my Bibb experience.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

View from top of viewing towerView from top of viewing tower
View from top of viewing tower

And yes, internet and mobile service was available !! Just a tip, Vodafone reception not available nearly everywhere. People buy Telstra cards to have some coverage.


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb