Nearly swimming with Crocs


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
October 7th 2011
Published: October 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mia and I were geared up for a big Derby weekend. We thought we'd better start it with a small road trip to see Windjana Gorge and Tunnel Creek. We left Derby just after 9.30am on Friday and we arrived at Windjana close to midday. We had the entire place to ourselves - a very different experience for me, since the first time I went the place was abuzz with tourists.
It was a bit eeery walking through in the heat of the day with no one else around. We did have the equivilent July tourist population in birdlife, and they kept us company with their cocophany of chatter.
In total, we spotted about 10 crocs cooling themselves in the shallows and it was lovely to be back in such different circumstances.
Next stop- Tunnel Creek. As we were putting our sneakers on, there were 3 other cars in the car park. As we entered the tunnel the last of the others exited. Yep, we had the place to ourselves again. This, even Mia admitted was, "a bit scary". I was paranoid that crocs were around, which of course there were! I spotted some red eyes early on, but Mia disagreed. We pushed forwards. We got nearly the whole way through when we practically stepped on top of one! That was it for me, I wanted out of there. I know they're just freshies but it is mating season and we were 2 hours drive from anywhere, all alone in a dark tunnel. No thankyou very much.
Back in day light Mia felt a bit foolish for not going all the way through. I didn't. I just wanted to be back in the sunshine away from red, beedy eyes.
I would be lying if I said getting back in the car was fun, delightfully Mia took over from driving on the way back to Derby. We were rodeo bound and had to be at Kristen's by 7. The cowboys were out in force and it was great that Mia could see Derby come to life. After the rodeo we went to the Spini but it was pretty quiet. We left before closing and I was asleep before my head hit the pillow.. and the weekend hadn't even started yet.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0665s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb