Broome Bliss


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
September 18th 2011
Published: September 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

CautionCautionCaution

Dragon Boat Warning
It had been a loooonnnng week so by 2:30pm Friday arvo I was on my way to Broome for a much needed getaway.

Vegemite was having such a lovely time when I dropped him off for his sleepover that he didn't even say goodbye! That made me feel less like a bad mother for leaving him.

I arrived in Broome just after 5 and headed to Broome Beach Resort to meet up with the girls. Caitlyn and I walked down to Cable Beach to watch the sunset before picking up some drinks for the bbq.
After a feast of sausages, gourmet salads and kangaroo burgers we made our way to Diver's Tavern for a groove. We were amazed that the band stopped playing at 11pm though. It seemed a bit silly to stop the music just when everyone was getting into the swing of things!

On Saturday morning we packed up the gear and headed for the weekend markets. I had lots of shopping on my list and got stuck in straight away. Then it was off to Dragon Boat Racing for the Shinju Matsuri Festival. Lots of fun to see. The rest of the day was spent
Sand fly AttackSand fly AttackSand fly Attack

Poor Caitlyn's legs were munched
lazing on Cable Beach where there was actually some surf!

Saturday night we headed to Matso's for a ginger beer or four and then had dinner at Som Thai before more drinks at the Rowie and finally a dance to techno Rnb at Oasis.

It was excellent to wake up on Sunday, I felt like a new person who had been on holidays for ages. Amazing what a mini-break can do. It was totally weird weather in Broome on Sunday as you can see in the photos. There was a strange mist/smog thing going on. We named in wist- not quite rain, not quite mist and very weird. Never mind, I got back to Derby by lunch time and spent the afternoon in the garden and catching up on some chores.
This week is Year 6 Surf Camp and so I will need all the extra energy I have just recouperated. After I return it will only be 5 more work days before holiday start and then I will see Mia andJarrad!!! YAAAYYYYY.
Have a good week everyone and happy birthday Lisa Legs.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Painted dragon boatsPainted dragon boats
Painted dragon boats

Never smile at a crocodile!
Broome WistBroome Wist
Broome Wist

Saturday morning wist had cleared by 8am


Gemma and Kristen physc themselves up
Sunflower MelSunflower Mel
Sunflower Mel

Mel in front of the sunflower man at the markets
The gangThe gang
The gang

Matso's actually kicked us out of their dining area cos we were taking up too much space!
No Sunday SwimNo Sunday Swim
No Sunday Swim

The wist takes over Cable Beach on Sunday morning. So cold and damp!
Wist outWist out
Wist out

After 10.30am and I gave up!
No oozing please!No oozing please!
No oozing please!

Weird sign at Broome beach Resort pool
SplatSplat
Splat

I'm still not sure how this happened????


Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb