Broome


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Western Australia » Broome
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Irrigated Fields of the Ord River Irrigation ProjectIrrigated Fields of the Ord River Irrigation ProjectIrrigated Fields of the Ord River Irrigation Project

I learned that most of the plantations are of Sandalwood Trees. Apparently these trees extract oil used in perfume manufacture - the trees begin oil production at 15 yrs of age, and provide 2 tonnes of oil each at the market rate of $A100,000 per tonne!
Welcome to Broome!

I arrived in Broome last night after driving the 1000kms or so from Kununurra yesterday. My initial plan was to do this drive over several days, however there is not alot in between Kununurra and Broome to be honest - unless you wish to stop at Fitzroy Crossing which is where Bradley Murdoch - the guy convicted of killing Peter Falconio - was convicted of shooting indiscriminately into a group of aboriginals celebrating in a dry river bed. Alternatively you could go off the beaten track and drive into the Bungle Bungles - a 120km round trip on dirt roads. I chose Broome!

As I arrived relatively late last night, my choice of accommodation was rather limited. The only available site I could find was at Roebuck Bay Van Park - the opposite side of t he peninsula to Cable Beach which is where I really wanted to stay. To top that off, the site I was allocated (the last available) was right up against the road, and next to a guy who had a serious snoring problem. I booked in for two nights - needless to say, I packed up the Thunderbox and have relocated to Cable Beach today.

Prior to leaving Kununurra, I managed to actually get off the ground and do my scenic flight over Lake Argyle and the Bungles. The flight was great. I think the best way to see the Bungles is from the air to be honest, and despite the plane only being a 5 seater (plus pilot), the flight was very smooth and included a landing in the Bungle National Park. The flight back to Kununurra took in the view over the Argyle Diamond Mine, apparently the largest diamond producer in the world. I have included a few pics I took during the flight.

Not much more to say from here except that I awoke in Broome to a pea souper - a very foggy day indeed. It is now just after 11am and the fog has only just lifted, so to be honest I have not had a chance to get a good look at Broome yet - visibility has been atrocious! There is still a bit of cloud cover in the sky, but the temperature is expected to reach 30C + today (as is normal) .... so to you Sydney Siders ... I don’t envy you one bit! 

Enjoy the pics.





Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



30th July 2008

Presents
Hello. If you dont already have a present picked out for your favourite credit ladies (Sarah & I), we would love a sandalwood tree (so we can sell the oil for lots of $$$) or a few diamonds from the diamond mine. Thanks!

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb