A Canadian in Australia - thirty days. Day 12. Wreck Beach, Gables Lookout and Twelve Apostles(a revisit)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Port Campbell
March 10th 2019
Published: March 10th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Had a relatively quiet day today. On my initial drive to Port Campbell I missed Wreck Beach (no signage) so today, with the help of Google Maps, I retraced my steps about 40 km so I could visit it. The access road was long, narrow and gravel so not a fun drive. At the trailhead the sign said "Wreck Beach 350 meters". Not bad, except it was down a steep steep hill with steps. The beach itself was small, quite rugged and it was not hard to believe there were shipwrecks in the area. Although at low tide you could see parts of the shipwrecks, the sites were a km away and I did not chance the trip along the beach not knowing the tides. Anyway I did visit Wreck Beach. I must say the trip up those steps was not fun and required an inordinate number of rest breaks. When 220 pounds fights gravity, gravity always wins! Must be a message here or something! Nearby there was a Gables Lookout I visited. The coastal view was quite rugged, similar in fact to the views you would see in Nova Scotia Canada. Since it was still early, on my way back to Port Campbell I revisited the Twelve Apostles. It was overcast this day so perhaps the pictures would be different. Anyway, the Twelve Apostles is certainly worth a revisit, So my day ended around 2ish.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The TrailThe Trail
The Trail

250 meters
Lunch at the Twelve ApostlesLunch at the Twelve Apostles
Lunch at the Twelve Apostles

A meat pie and a sausage in a roll. Had better!
Mid-afternoon snackMid-afternoon snack
Mid-afternoon snack

Getting to like these Flat Whites!


12th March 2019
Twelve Apostles

still beautifull
12th March 2019
The Trail

there is apparently 350 steps to wreck beach (wikipedia)...you will come back slim!
12th March 2019
The Trail

And uphill! I think the sign said 250 meters!

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0812s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb