A little drama can always be expected .....


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Mildura
September 4th 2015
Published: September 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Entry 2 – 4th September. Mildura Vic

My pace has been leisurely, the advantage of having three months up my sleeve and no need to hurry. It has also been of necessity somewhat slower than anticipated due to the onset of a cold and the need to be kind to myself and take it easy. All good. I am camped on the banks of the Murray River once again – back at Psych Pumps in the Kings Billabong Park at Mildura. But I've yet to look at and process those shots .... perhaps they will feature in a future blog.


Last night I stayed at Lake Benanee just outside of Euston, NSW, a beaut little free camp rest area. There was some drama there just as I arrived last night. A semi-trailer road train had got himself bogged in the sand just a few meters from the water’s edge. Not entirely sure what he was doing or why he attempted to drive his road train where he did. But he had to wait 24 hours for a suitable tow truck to arrive from Mildura to pull him out and it was an exercise that was much enjoyed by a motly array of onlookers who like me were using the rest area that night. Needless to say the driver was somewhat embarrassed and sheepish in front of all our cameras.

The Hay Plain was its normal windy big sky self – fuel economy dipped dramatically and I have vowed to stay off the highways in exposed wind-swept areas in the afternoon hours. Should have known that was when the winds are strongest. And so tonight I am still in Mildura - it was after 1pm by the time I had lunched by the river in town, and I knew that the wind would be up by then and decided to heed my own advice and stay put until morning.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 14; qc: 70; dbt: 0.0759s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb