My Favorite City


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
June 12th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Melbourne is my favourite city in the world. I would move here in a heartbeat except it is too far away from my family and I have no idea what I would do for a job since I still don't have an ATM card for a never-empty bank account.
First, Melbourne is a large city with many distinct and interesting neighborhoods. It has a wonderful tram system and beautiful old (for Australia) buildings. There are a ton of parks... I think the bus driver told me there were more than 100 but I don't know if that's true. One of the parks is the Royal Botantical Gardens, which is lovely and makes you forget you are in a city except when you look up at the skyline. There are more restaurant, bars, and coffee shops than I could visit in a lifetime although I would definitely give it a go. I can't believe I made it out of the city without buying at least one pair of shoes (it is boot season over here) because the choices were amazing. The whole city has a charm in character I haven't felt in other cities. The one thing I would have to check
Eiffel tower of sortsEiffel tower of sortsEiffel tower of sorts

It is just like Paris but better
out before I moved here would be the summer time temps. If it gets as hot as Sydney, the whole thing's off.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Part of the SkylinePart of the Skyline
Part of the Skyline

A skyline shot that turned out.
A bird in the parkA bird in the park
A bird in the park

Check out the feet on this bird. They have the strangest birds (among other things) in Australia


30th June 2006

Average high for January is 79f. But is there pub trivia?
1st July 2006

pub trivia answer
I found pub trivia in Alice Springs, I am sure I can find in Melbourne
9th July 2006

....no more?
Long time, no blog...ey? So you find your favorite city....and not only is your blog short for an aml blog....but also the last update in weeks....what kind of shenanigans are going on down there? I expect the abbreviated tour guide version of melbourne.....and no i'm not addicted....so really...when is the next installment? :)

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0933s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb