the land down under


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
June 6th 2006
Published: June 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

HI everyone! I don't know who's still reading these scattered things and who's given up but...nevertheless we've made it to Australia, only been here for a few hours actually, and already so much has happened. Our flight over was really nice...the airline was named something like cheapflight so we were a little skeptical at first but it was the most comfortable flight yet. We sat next to an aussie rugby player who gave us the heads up on all the places to go, the rules of rugby (don't ask me, I'm still confused) and helped us navigate our way around the airport.
When we were getting our luggage, this lady with a kid who had been squalling the entire plane ride, was beside us and, out of the blue, passed him off to Molly so she could assemble his pram (aka stroller). Molly looked hilarious holding this kid straight up by his armpits and he kept trying to fool her by pointing one direction and trying to escape towards the luggage carousel for an quick adventure. The lady then asked the aussie to please dig in her bag for a missing pram piece, and I think she forgot about her kid because Mo is now chasing him around in circles while he bounces a green ball towards peoples heads. THEN she asks if I can spare a hand to push the freshly assembled pram swiftly towards the bus she is trying to catch.
So off I follow, pram pushing my way dangerously around piles of luggage and crowds of people, across the road (taxis speeding by, the mom running way ahead of me), thinking to myself that if she knew what a bad driver I was, she would not have put me in charge of the pram. Meanwhile Molly and Aaron the Aussie are loaded down with my luggage looking around, hoping I haven't been kidnapped by a crazy mom in desperate need of a babysitter.
We found a hostel that send a shuttle to pick us up for free from the airport which saved us from a pricey twenty minute taxi ride. An Israeli guy named Yoel with a big hat and a walking stick who had just left an intentional eco-community in New Zealand was on the shuttle with us, so we talked about our NZ adventures and made plans for Melbourne with the help of our driver.
Which brings us to Hotel Bakpak, where we are now, which is this massive building full of rooms that seem mostly deserted, but hey it was only twenty bucks a night so we'll see what happens. And they have ping pong! It's really old but interesting, with giant chalkboards filled with "what to do in Melbourne" lists, a red and white polka dotted bathroom, and a little cafe. I'm so excited to be here! No waking up at seven every morning unless we want to and we are entirely on our own! It's kind of intimidating to think of lil ole Molly and me in gigantic Australia!!! I'll take some pics and write more tomorrow. We might go with the to the zoo in search of Kangaroos, and beyond that who knows....

Advertisement



7th June 2006

Go you little aussie-girl!
Of course we are all still reading and ooggling the awesome fotos and your reader ship has actually INCREASED since 'achoo'- all my friends I tell about your trip and have a pc want to 'tune in' and all rave about what a great little travel writer you are---- maybe you've found your 'niche' already.....sounds like your cold is better and glad to know you have a wonderful little 'home base' and are meeting people till you get your aussie legs on......love you lots and miss you but know you are having a great trip.....ant. s.
7th June 2006

Jessie, I am enjoying your TravelBlog and pictures so much. Had lunch with your granny today and we touched on your trip. I told her I'm reliving my youth through your travels. Have fun. Pat

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 75; dbt: 0.0822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb