That's when good neighbours become goodÂ….


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 30th 2006
Published: May 4th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Melbourne


…frieeeeennnds!!

What can I say, I couldn’t come all the way to Oz and down to Melbourne and not make a pilgrimage to Ramsey Street!!

Sad I know, but I was actually very excited about going - much to the annoyance of my cousin! (did I say her name was Van?! yeah - serious!!) Most of the people of the bus were English, Van was the only aussie - how embarrassed was she?!

We visited Erinsborough High - which is an actual school (obviously!) so we couldn’t go in and visit, but the tour company bought the sign with them so we could have our photo taken!! The kids in the school probably thinking we’re complete freaks for having our pics taken outside their school!!

Then off to the famous cul de sac….took lots of photos outside various houses!!! Again, they bought the street sign with them (otherwise us thieving Brits would just nick it!!), so there are various photos on my holding the sign at different places! Really wanted to visit the studio but that’s not part of the tour unfortunately. But, we did park up outside where the tour guide said that sometimes when the cast see the rather colourful tour bus outside, they come out and say hello…unfortunately not this time! I soooo wanted to see lovely Stuart! Anyway, the guide gave us some up to date gossip on the soap…but I won’t spoil it for you….!

Anyway, now I had the taste of soap fever, I needed more….so Van reluctantly agreed to come with me (and dragged along her unsuspecting mates as well!!) to the Elephant and Wheelbarrow in St Kilda the following evening to see the hunky (!) Dr Karl Kennedy and his band play!!

I’ve got to admit, he wasn’t as bad as I expected - you know - old soap star, pretending to be able to sing to cash in on his fame (in the loosest sense of the word of course!!) Mostly, he covered good old hits - Oasis, The Beatles, Bon Jovi, Rolling Stones with a bit of Bryan Adams thrown in for good measure!! Usual pub singer fayre! Again, to the majority Brit crowd!! It was good fun - check out the pics - and I have to credit Wesley, Van’s mate for them - he had a v good camera!!

With the Neighbours tour and seeing Dr Karl ticked off my life’s to-do list, it was time to move onto the next leg of my travels…Great Ocean Road here I come!! Eeek - this would be my first proper tour as well - what if the people are complete freaks, I have to spend a whole 3 and a half days with them!!! AARRRGGGHHH!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb