Australia, Day 1


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 2nd 2006
Published: March 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Our Home For The WeekOur Home For The WeekOur Home For The Week

I did the driving. Our Home Away From Home.
Well...

It's taken me a bit to get back to this...Recovering from a transoceanic flight and then catching the requisite cold...which instead of hitting me the day of my arrival smacked me up the morning I was to go back to work...AND the depression of going back to work after a cool trip have beaten me down a bit.

Anyway, I'm going to try to add my journal entries and put some photos in here over the next couple of days.

So, here goes...

Friday, February 17, 2006, 5:30 PM

We are checked into the Kyneton Bushland Resort, about an hour north of Melbourne. Megan is sleeping right now, and God, did she need to get to bed.

The flight was harder on her than I thought it would be, and by the time we got here, she was suffering from a headache, and was very spacey, mostly because she hadn’t eaten in several hours. Breakfast on the flight was a cheddar cheese omelet and sausage, and it was very greasy…Megan couldn’t eat much of it, and it would be nearly 9 hours before we finally got something to eat at Quintessence, a restaurant that came highly recommended in the Lonely Planet.

I have a feeling that the rest of today, and this evening will be spent relaxing, sleeping, taking it easy and sleeping some more. I know I will have to hit the sack before too late, but I really want to stay awake now and get on a regular schedule here.

Megan, though, has had a hard go of it. She gets anxious and nervous about new situations, and there is little that can be newer than being up for the better part of 24 hours and flying all the way across the Pacific Ocean to Australia. It’s like she gets spacey, can’t concentrate, and seems to be upset with me. She definitely has a different way of reacting to stress, and I have to work on dealing with this, because I am not completely used to every quirk in her personality.

In any case, we are here, at last. Today should be a day of rest, because we both need it. Tomorrow, we may sleep in a bit, get some breakfast, and then I want to go out to Hanging Rock…both the park and the winery…and start seeing some of this country. Some of it other than the Safeway grocery store, where we went shopping today.
Oh, and tomorrow is my birthday, too.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb