Melbourne


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
September 30th 2008
Published: September 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello All, I know, I know I'm not great yet at updating this, but I have a million and one other things to spend my 3-4 dollar an hour internet on first.
Bangkok was my first stop. It was a hideously long flight and I'm very glad I do not have to do one of those again for a while. Bankok was stupidly humid - you would lose half your body weight there for sure. I basically just saw some sights in Thailand. I visited the Grand Palaces, Royal Palaces, several Buddhist temples and shrines and a traditional northern Thai house. It was all very, very beautiful.
Bangkok like any other big city has many sides. It has its poor parts and the very well-off sectors. The public transport leaves something to be desired and I mostly stuck to the sky-train, not just because it was air-conditioned, but because I knew I wasn't going to die on it. I went on one of the very basic buses and at times my heart literally lept up into my mouth. The Chao Phraya Express ferries were good most of the time, but if it hit any of the debris in the river, then it was way too unstable for my liking. On some river journeys, I saw people washing their clothes and themselves in the river. The street vendors worked very hard - some of them all day long. However, I didn't eat from any, as they had only tubs of dirty water to wash plates and vegetables in. When they were finished with these tubs, they simply poured them onto the side of the road.
Still, it was an amazing country to visit and I'm glad I stopped off on the way to Australia.

Advertisement



6th October 2008

Go Val!
Val, i think you are incredibly brave and wonderful to go off around the world, just like that. thanks for this report. i look forward to more shenanigans but of course you have a mission, so you go girl! luv ya, take care... ellie x
14th October 2008

Don't drink the water. Crocs live in them.
Nice to see that you are alive and well, watch out for Crocs in Aus. Take care.
15th October 2008

Great to hear from you and that all is well with you and the new baby. Hope you four are all doing well. Please send me a picture! Lots of love, Val
15th October 2008

Been in the bush old girl - battling the wildlife. Off again to the sticks tomorrow. Don't think I could live this isolated, but it's fun for a while. How's the wedding planning going? lotsa love, Val

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb