It wasn't the athletes that made the Olympics so grand...


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
August 25th 2008
Published: August 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

NaomiNaomiNaomi

Naomi was all decked out for the Opening of the Games!
Well as we are all readjusting ourselves back to life without the intensity that was the Olympics, it has given me a bit of reflection time about what the past two weeks really meant to the USA, to Australia, and even to the world.

It was definitely interesting to experience the Olympics somewhere other than your own home country! My friends invited me over to an Opening Ceremony party to celebrate the opening of the two weeks of non-stop sporting events. When I walked into the house, I was definitely reminded of the fact that I wasn't in the USA--there were flags, party streamers, hats, blow up fingers...all in the colours of Australia! Haha we did take some pictures, but I vowed not to show them, so as not to tell my friends back home that my allegiance had shifted 😊. All jokes aside, it was a great party and one which made me realise just how much I love the Olympics.

For an event such as the Olympics, I see it as such a wonderful opportunity for many nations to put their differences aside and engage in friendly competitions (though athletes will never call it friendly), with the
I'm not a traitor!I'm not a traitor!I'm not a traitor!

Since I've been here for more than 6 months, I thought I should dress the part :)
eventual goal of winning a medal for your country. It such a great tool of national identity which really does provide an opportunity for citizens of many nations to get together and share a commonality.

Australia was definitely pumped for the Olympics! I could tell this by the sudden representation of sooo many plasma screen tvs that had gone up around campus. As 11 of the competitors were alumni from Monash, there was such a strong affirmation of the Olympics and a great promotion around all parts of campus. You could plug in your radio at the gym and get the audio feed as you watched the tvs above you. In the classroom buildilngs, there were several tvs set to the Olympics so you could take a break and catch the gymnastics, or the swimming events. In the evenings, dorms set up tv rooms and had parties and dinners surrounding the tv screen.

Now granted, it's not the most active lifestyle for uni students to be glued to a tv, but I think that we all were just so impressed by how China handled itself with the Olympics, and the diversity of the athletes' abilities in all events.
NicholasNicholasNicholas

Nicholas was more excited than anyone else
Now, Olympics in Australia was a bit different than back home, mainly because the national interests in the sports differed a bit and we spent more broadcast time on the rowing/water events, dressage competitions, and sooo many hours of weightlifting!!! Also, I think I saw the gold medal performances of all of the Aussie winners at least 5 times!! They seemed to be on continuous looping!!

However, as my title suggests, it wasn't the athletes that made the Olympics so grand...but it was the Australian commentators!! WOW, what an experience! I was preparing myself for some serious USA/Aussie rivalries in the sports, but it seemed to exist in the commentary that went along with each matchup! I was so surprised to hear some of the things people had said about the USA and its abilities, but then again, I guess I should have expected it, living in another country who is so competitive with the US! But, yes, that will be one memory of the Olympics that I will remember for many, many more Olympiads 😊


So I basically had two weeks of programs to follow...now that the Olympics are over....what will I do?!?


Hope
HandsHandsHands

My, what big hands I have!
you're all doing well in your Olympic withdrawals!

Cindy 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

OpeningOpening
Opening

The Chinese team coming into the stadium
OpeningOpening
Opening

Such a great opening ceremony!


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.094s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb