Round Two Rotary Meetings!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
July 2nd 2008
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

RC of RowvilleRC of RowvilleRC of Rowville

Rotary Club of Rowville
The month of June found me tied up in finishing final examinations and planning some holiday travels. However, before I left anywhere I had the opportunity to visit several more Rotary clubs between mid-June and mid-July, including two clubs outside of District 7750.

I've really enjoyed the opportunity to travel around the district and even within this region and hear the stories of Rotarians. Having the ability to interact with such high profile individuals who have given so much of their time, effort, and even their careers to the goals of Rotary is something that is truly humbling and encouraging. I really hope that one of the things I am able to accomplish in my life is the opportunity to dedicate my professional life to one of service for my community and for the world I live in.

While I travelled to Canberra on a holiday trip, I had the opportunity to speak at the Rotary Club of Canberra North. At this evening meeting, there was also the celebration of a club changeover. For those not familiar with this, Changeover night means that beginning in July each year, a new team of Rotarians take over clubs and a new team takes over on the District level. These evenings are celebrations of the previous year of accomplishment, as well as the opportunity for the incoming president to deliver an address of his/her ambitions for the upcoming year. I really enjoyed visiting Canberra North during their changeover evening. I also had the opportunity to attend my host club (RC of Hampton) changeover evening, as well as the District Changeover Luncheon.

During the month of July, I traveled for a conference to Christchurch, New Zealand (more on that later!). Prior to visiting, I made contact with the Rotary Club of Garden City in Christchurch and set up a meeting date that I could speak to the club. Though I do not belong to this district, several of the Rotarians introduced themselves and spent a great deal of time welcoming me to their District and asking many questions about my experience in Australia. I felt truly honoured to have been able to meet such wonderful Rotarians who, though we are not part of the same district, share the same amazing values that every Rotarian shares.

I even had the great chance to have a home stay with Mr. Mike Godber and
RC of TemplestoweRC of TemplestoweRC of Templestowe

With the President of the Templestowe Club
his family for two nights while in Christchurch. I truly value homestays with families, because it is through these that you are able to really get to know a culture and speak with those who have grown up in their specific lifestyles. Also, I found that I was able to ask genuine questions and share stories with Mike's family as if they were very good friends of mine from long ago. Their hospitality was most generous and I really enjoyed getting to know them as a family. I'm sure that we will remain in touch for many years!!


Cheers,

Cindy 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

RC of TemplestoweRC of Templestowe
RC of Templestowe

Delivering my speech at the Templestowe club
RC of OakleighRC of Oakleigh
RC of Oakleigh

Rotary Club of Oakleigh Meeting
RC of Fern Tree GullyRC of Fern Tree Gully
RC of Fern Tree Gully

Rotary Club of Fern Tree Gully
RC of Fern Tree GullyRC of Fern Tree Gully
RC of Fern Tree Gully

Speaking to the Fern Tree Gully group
RC of Canberra NorthRC of Canberra North
RC of Canberra North

I delivered a shortened speech to the RC of Canberra North
RC of Canberra NorthRC of Canberra North
RC of Canberra North

Exchanging banners with the President of the RC of Canberra North
RC of Canberra NorthRC of Canberra North
RC of Canberra North

Louisa and I with the Past and current presidents of the Canberra North club
DG ChangeoverDG Changeover
DG Changeover

PDG Dick Garner introducing Newly-Inducted President John Barnes
DG ChangeoverDG Changeover
DG Changeover

With the changeover, PDG Dick was able to don his own suit and even begin to dust out his Rotary files!
DG ChangeoverDG Changeover
DG Changeover

District 9810 President John Barnes
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

PP Lorraine Huddle about to deliver her closing remarks as president
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

There were multiple special awards given, one to my counselor Jenny!
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

The new team of leaders for 2008-2009 Hampton Club
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

PP Lorraine with her mum and her daughter
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

PP Lorraine passing on the reigns to President Marie
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

President Marie and my counselor Jenny
Hampton ChangeoverHampton Changeover
Hampton Changeover

Claim to fame?! Our waiter that evening was a star on several television shows in the USA!
ChristchurchChristchurch
Christchurch

Mike Godber and his family during my homestay in Christchurch...can't we just make this a postcard for the holidays?!
RC of Garden CityRC of Garden City
RC of Garden City

Exchanging banners with the President of the Garden City Rotary Club


28th July 2008

Another fantastic blog. You really are very good and I have missed them. Guess with vacation and travels it has been more difficult to keep your messages up. You are forgiven! Thanks again for keeping your friends in District 7750 informed! RICH

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb