I HAVE THE INTERNET IN MY ROOM!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
March 5th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

floor mates! floor mates! floor mates!

These are some people that live on my floor. Aaron, Ellie and Kate are Aussies and Danielle is Canadian!
Hey everyone! I FINALLY have internet in my room! If you have Skype, feel free to contact me! If you have a webcam we can even see each other! I talked to Mom on Skype and also Dad today, so it was nice to see them as well as talk to them. I'm settling into classes fine and reminding myself everyday that I'm here to STUDY abroad and not go explore all the nook and crannies of this place all the time.

My friends Brenna and Nichole and I are hoping to go on a camping trip with the mountaineering club here. If we go, we'll be bushwalking, rafting and mountain biking! These are things I wouldn't normally do and mountain biking makes me apprehensive so obviously I have to do it. That's my rule of thumb for the most part while I'm here, if it scares me...do it! We're also looking into a weekend surf trip to the Great Ocean Road and Torquey, that would be AMAZING. I'll keep you posted! Our Easter Break (spring break at home, but it isn't spring) we're hoping to go to Tasmania so we'll be trying to plan that very soon!

I
group shot!group shot!group shot!

sometimes we get bored when we're waiting for the tram or bus, so spontaneous photoshoots happen pretty often.
told myself I would never EVER do this, but I sang karaoke last night. We all went out to a karaoke place in Chinatown in the city last night and a big group of us sang Bohemian Rhapsody and Sweet Caroline. I would never karaoke by myself but it was a lot of fun!

I had my first tutorial session today, which is basically like a bunch of student pulled from our big lecture and put in a classroom so we can further discuss the topics in our lecture and ask questions and talk about the outside reading we have to do. I had a 2 hour one today and while I got the majority of what our instructor was saying, I'm still adjusting to the accent. It was hard to catch everything, but I think in a couple more weeks I'll be good to go.

I think I'm going to try to go and do something cultural every weekend in the city. This weekend we want to see the Fitzroy Gardens. If it's a pretty day (which I'm sure it will be) then I'll hopefully get some really awesome pictures.

I love Australia so much, I
MECHANICAL MAN!MECHANICAL MAN!MECHANICAL MAN!

street performer in melbourne named mechanical man who made interesting songs with his various electronic devices....HILARIOUS
can't fathom leaving in June 😞 Trying not to think about it yet. Also sort of considering the slight possibility of getting exchange student status and making this a year long adventure...stay tuned!

Hope you enjoy the pictures! Miss you all and love you too!

xoxo,
Amanda


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

this is melbourne :)this is melbourne :)
this is melbourne :)

we were there on a BEAUTIFUL day
cooking demo!cooking demo!
cooking demo!

we were in melb during the food and wine festival and a bunch of people were on the lawn watching a cooking demonstration. they were making lamb shanks or something haha.
federation square!federation square!
federation square!

this place is really cool! that's all i have to say!
flinders street stationflinders street station
flinders street station

big train station right in the city! super busy!


5th March 2008

Oh goodness!
Seeing all of your pictures and everything that you are writing makes me realize that I need to get on this blogging thing soon! Its going to take me forever to get caught up!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0175s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb