Australian Open


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne
January 28th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

With the Australian Open being held in Melbourne, I figured it wouldn't hurt to stick around the city yet a little longer to go see one of the major tennis tournaments in the world. I really wanted to see Federer since this is probably the only tournament that you wont have to sell your right arm to get in and see possibly the best tennis play ever. I had looked for tickets before online but since the draws weren't actually decided on until only a couple days before they were played, I elected to wait and just get scalped tickets the day of the match I wanted to see.

As it turned out, the day matches on the main court (Rod Laver Arena) on the first day had Mauresmo, Federer, and Baghdatis all in the line up. The matches started at 11am so I went before 10 to try and secure a ticket. It took me almost up until 11 to even hear one person trying to sell a ticket! In North America, there can be 1000 people in the 50000 seat stadium and you will still get scalpers galore so I was a little shocked at how difficult it
Mauresmo in ActionMauresmo in ActionMauresmo in Action

Last years Womens Single Champion
was.

I was lucky though and found an American woman who accidentally bought too many ticket for day 1 over the internet so was only trying to get rid of the extras at cost. Getting the correct $42 amount was difficult since I only had $50's on me so bought a pin to get change.

The seats were 1 row from the top and I was in one of the corners behind the players seats. Still had a good view of all the action and really enjoyed the atmosphere. One thing I found out is that every year at the Australian Open, the day 1 day matches on the main court are always last years singles winners (Mauresmo and Federer in 2006) with one of the runners up. I could have saved myself a lot of time if I would have known that tidbit a week or so earlier!

Anyways, it was a great way to spend the day for not too much dough and you really can't tell how good Federer really is from watching on TV I've found. The number of times he makes opponents run in the competely wrong direction on seemingly harmless shots
Womens Singles MatchWomens Singles MatchWomens Singles Match

First day main court action between Amelie Mauresmo of France and Shenay Perry of the US.
is something the cameras can never pick up on since they only follow the ball. I said on that first day that he wouldn't lose a set the whole tournament and now that it is over, too bad I didn't actually bet someone on that! 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The best ever!?!The best ever!?!
The best ever!?!

Last years Mens Singles winner and seeing as I'm a little behind in the posts, I can say this years winner too.
The big man in actionThe big man in action
The big man in action

Roger serving up another winner.
Federer vs PhauFederer vs Phau
Federer vs Phau

Men singles main court match; Roger Federer of Switzerland against Bjorn Phau of Germany.
Baghdatis Baghdatis
Baghdatis

Baghdatis serving at Rod Laver Arena
Baghdatis in ActionBaghdatis in Action
Baghdatis in Action

Marcos Baghdatis of Cyprus during his match against Rainer Schuettler of Germany.
Outside CourtOutside Court
Outside Court

Here is Martina Sucha from Slovakia...very cute! :)
Womens 5th Seed warming upWomens 5th Seed warming up
Womens 5th Seed warming up

Nadia Petrova from Russia warming up prior to her evening match on the first day.
Main Outside CourtMain Outside Court
Main Outside Court

There were 3 stadiums like this outside that could be accessed by general ground passes.


10th February 2007

Too long before Entries!!!
Sounds like you are having an amazing time. Lots of interesting reading - can't wait to see it all in person. Keep having fun -sober!!!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb