9hr time difference = really far away!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
July 20th 2006
Published: July 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was really looking forward to my flight to Sydney, weird I know but on the way to Bangkok I was sat with people my age all setting off on their travels so we had good chats....I was looking forward to more of the same! So I guess it was only natural that I ended up sitting wedged between to big old(ish) men! They grabbed both armrests immediately and fell asleep, so much for my isle seat and so much for my friendly banter! ugh! I didnt sleep a wink, thank the lord for in-flight entertainment...movies on demand was a lifesaver! Sydney was a 2hr blur of me rushing through the airport to catch my connection, a 2hr layover when I had luggage to re-check and immigration to get through was maybe pushing it....I made my flight, just! Straight out and into a taxi at Melbourne to take me to the girls. I could barely keep my eyes open, it was a real struggle. I didnt take in anything (for the next day or 2 really!) I got to the girl's apt, I could hear thier voices as I was walking along the corridor, weird having not seen the girls for about 10 months! 30secs in their company and it was as if we had never been apart....I love that! I was dead beat so after a little chat Ruth and Debs went off to work and Claire was left to babysit the comatose new arrival!

I have just been trying to get my bearings this week! Friday we went for a walk around St Kilda, I love it! Lots of vintage clothing shops, deli's, coffee shops and bars....cafe culture at its best! Sat we did some more wandering around, went to visit St Kilda beach, its about a 10min walk from the apt. I cant wait till the weather warms up...i'll be right out there! Sat night we went to the famous Waterside (famous cause Debs and Ruth work there!) Claire and I enjoyed a few drinks with some of the Irish boys they have become friendly with then Debs finished at 1am and joined in the drinking, poor Ruth had to work till close! We ended up leaving the bar at around 5am....fun times, and possibly a sign of things ahead!

Needless to say Sunday was a lazy day! I have been out and about with the girls during the days, being shown around, Melb is huge so it may take a while! Yesterday Debs and I took a trip up the Rialto Tower (tallest building in Melb!), the views were amazing, we stayed up there for ages, so much to see and Debs was pointing out various landmarks....
Dinner and drinks at the Waterside and we all wilted!

Debs and I found the best Falafel place for lunch today (Very health concious here, lucky for me and my waistband!), she has headed off into town now and I am just going to wander the shops of St Kilda and look for bargains! That brings me pretty much up-to-date! I will try to be good at updating pics and whatnot from now on!

Hope you are all enjoying the heat wave at home.....my time will come!!! : )


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



22nd July 2006

looks fab fee
You seem to have settled in then sis,pictures looking good.this is a great wee thing int it.Look forward to more pictures and an update.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
25th July 2006

Jealous
Green with envy doesnt even come close!!! hmm i love this stuffy office, would never swap it for australia! hope your looking after yourself missus.
30th July 2006

howdy
glad you arrived safe!!! cant believe none of those bams met you at the airport for a big welcome!! Sounds like your having an faby time, take care, chat soon xxx
2nd August 2006

The girls
I did not know the girls were all down there... I must have just missed them when i was there in November... too bad! Enjoy Australia!

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0529s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb