Home Sweet Home


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » St Kilda
April 7th 2006
Published: April 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spent the morning helping move Caroline into her flat from the hostel where we were both staying. It's a pretty nice studio apartment in the heart of the busy and lively St.Kilda district and shes paying $260 per/week (120 pounds) fully furnished and all inclusive of bills which I think is a pretty good deal. She's also got it on a two month contract instead of the crappy 6/12 month ones they seem to force you to have in the UK. It's something I might consider doing myself for a couple of months as melbourne seems to have everything you would need to keep you entertained for a lifetime.

April 12th - May 7th is the Melbourne International Comedy festival where there will be some great nights comedy every night so I expect that that combined with my 30th birthday on May 5th will result in near bankruptcy and liver damage through booze consumption but I guess I'm on holiday after all, eh ?!?

I remember Caroline mentioning she liked the singer Beth Orton and also noticed that she was playing in Melbourne on april 21st so we now have tickets to go and see some live music too which should be good. Caroline's also agreed to accompany me to some comedy shows throughout the festival, so it will be nice to have some company for the shows now that me and Ollie have temporarily split up from travelling together.

All in all it's been a good few days and I can only see as April progresses getting better and better. I'm still trying to work out if I have the stamina to attend the 20 hour non stop standup comedy show that's being held to mark the 20th anniversary of the comedy festival. At $120 a ticket I will have to think about that - my ribs might hurt too much after 20 hours of laughing....


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb