Finally a hot shower


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Melbourne » Brunswick
July 23rd 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

BallaratBallaratBallarat

Gold mining for the day at Soverign Hill
Well it has been a while, but then again there is not a lot to report...

Work is interesting. I am still trying to get a hang of what my job entails. Like I said previously, I am working for a company called Servier, which is headquartered out of France. I am their "Theraputic units coordinator" in the international center for therapeutic research (ICTR). Well the job title sounds fancy, but basically I am a professional drug dealer 😉. I am responsible for dispatching drugs to differnt centers and doctors. They are doing many differnt drug trials, so I need to import all the drugs into the country, and send them out to where they are supposed to be. This is my second week and I am still learning. I am temping for someone who is going on pregnancy leave, so I am just hoping she doenst deliver early becasue I have so much to learn!!!!

Things around the apartment are good, now that the water has been fixed (or so I think). For a few weeks our hot water would randomly shut off, leaving me with no hot water for showers! Well after a week of lukewarm to
USAUSAUSA

Still a bit of the states down under
freezing cold showers there was great success! After my morning ritual of my "please let there be hot water" dance, I have not had a cold shower it days which makes waking up early in the morning far more tolerable.

Last weekend I embarked on yet another weekend trip. This time it was to Ballarat, which is about an hour and half drive out of the city. Ballarat is the reason why Melbourne is such a big town, becasue that is where the gold rush happened in 1851. The largest gold nuggest ever found in the world or something was found there, as well as the second biggest something someting.... anyways it was a nice little weekend getaway, but cold! It was about 30 and windy all weekend, not pleasant. In Ballarat is this museum Soverign Hill, which was rated the number one tourist attraction in the country. It was a fully functioning gold mining city complete with people in costume etc. A nice little weekend complete with gold mining.

Now it is just work for the week, and maybe another weekend get away? Hope the weather is better back home than it is here!

<3 Shanna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0646s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb