New Year


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Hawthorn East
January 6th 2012
Published: January 6th 2012
Edit Blog Post

PortseaPortseaPortsea

Before the clouds parted!
We decided to take a spontaneous trip down to Portsea surf beach with Sal as a friend had lent us a car. It was a bit cloudy on the way down but ended up being nice and hot! The water was freezing but I jumped in for a swim, only to be wiped by a kid on a body board!!! I must have collected half the sand on the beach as when I got home and showered I found it all in the bath!!!

New Year was much better than I expected! We managed to book a table at Il Pomodoro, an Italian restaurant on Federation Square! They gave us the table for the whole night but we only stayed until about half 9. We watched the show in the square, which was great especially as it was free! There was capoeira demonsration, drummers, bagpipes and music throughout the evening but it got really packed! The atmosphere was great partly because no alcohol is allowed in the actual square so most people were relatively sober! We left at about 10:30pm and jumped on a train (the public transport was free all night!!!!) to a friend's house. It took quite a
NYENYENYE

AT Fed Square early in the evening
while to get into the main station because it was so busy but eventually we made it to Voula's apartment just in time to watch the fireworks on the rooves of the tallest building n the city! Good food, good company and good entertainment= great night!

New Year's Day was nice because it was really hot- it nearly hit 40 degrees!!! I made a roast dinner with a huge yorkshire pudding (from scratch), stuffing, cauli cheese, parsnips and roasties!! I was feeling very domesticated! I even did some DIY later on to help Aaron out before he gave the keys back for his apartment. I filled, sanded and Matty and I painted all afternoon. We ended up putting 3 coats of paint on because the paint was so thin and it dried so quickly in the heat!

I have been in touch with the forensic anthro at the Victorian Institute of Forensic Medicine and I'm going to pop in and see her later in the month (she's on holiday at the moment!) but I need to look for a job soon-to fund the hot chocolate addiction I have developed haha!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb