The Grampians, Halls Gap


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Victoria » Halls Gap
May 17th 2013
Published: May 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After leaving Warrambool, set my GPS for Halls Gap, decided to take the fastest route as it was going to be a two hour drive. Well it was an incredibly straight road, so I couldn't grumble about that and it obviously ran parallel to the main road but the surface!!!! Was awful in places and at times it went down to one lane of bumpy, rough tarmac. The good thing was I think I was the only person on this road!!! Eventually got to the Grampians and Halls Gap the weather was awful just torrential rain so I decided to head for the Motel in the end and try again tomorrow. Tomorrow came and hurray it was dry, still cloudy and grey but dry. Took the Horsham road up into the mountains to look for Mackenzie Falls which I found and followed the path to the bottom. It was a bit steep and the steps were wet so had to be careful. I was amazed there was so little water in it after the amount of rain that had come down in the last forty eight hours. Anyway carried on and did some walks and visited a couple of lookouts in the area before heading back to Halls Gap. I mentioned to some people I got chatting to that I hadn't seen a kangaroo yet and they said there are hundreds round here and told me where to go. After that I found quite a few so I can cross that off my list now. Ended the day by driving to Ballarat which is my next stop


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0695s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb