More of Tasmania


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
February 6th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Tasmania has a few animals that are unique. the Tasmanian Devil is one. I went on a night time tour in Cradle MT and was very fortuanate to see one and a few other unusual marsupials. I saw quolls, wallabys, wombats and possums. I was impressed.



Also I am so impressed with the roses that are grown in this country, Tasmania included. Of course they have no rose eating deer here!! Our own little devils, they are! Many private yards and town ovals are show cases for roses. Australians appreciate roses.



You all know that I am the Thrift shop queen. Well...I am in my glory down under. Vinnies ("St Vincent de Paul" in BC) and Salvos ("Salvation Army" In BC) are main street stores in every big and little town! They sit proudly next to the main hotel or the retail ladies wear shop. I have not hit EVERY ONE but I am trying. Angus spends his time in Bunnings (The Australian equivalent of Canadian Tire). My bill is way less than his at the end of the day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



6th February 2013

We ha bought our tiket for Peru. W\'ll make a stop In Miami with Diane on the way out. Leaving April 1st and returning on the 25th. Keep on the nice adventure. Lucius and Rollande
6th February 2013

Greetings From Seaforth
Just read your latest blog here at R&R's. Came all this way to talk about Comox/Powell River news to find you aren't stranded in the Nullabor but enjoying life in Tazzie. Nice to feel some heat! We should link up when you return to Canuck Country! Jock McLauchlan
12th February 2013

More of Tasmania
Once again I am "wowed" with the writings of your journey...feel like I am right there with you...I wish... Down Under has never been a destination for me, but you are making it sound like a fab place to visit. I loved the "caution" swimming sign. Did you go in the water after seeing that? Nice that you reconnected with friends how fortunate that you have freinds all over the world that you can visit when travelling. Glad to know you are away from the national disasters and enjoying the warmth and beauty around you. Spring is slowly coming to the Valley, little snow drops are appearing and new growth buds are forming on branches still stiff from the winter...kinda like me...We celebrated the first provincial "Family Day"today...rather quietly, but it suited us just fine. The sky cleared up and lots of folks were on the mountain for family skiing, Mt Washington even made the news. Looking forward to seeing you in a few months, in the mean time enjoy the moment...love you both, Sharon and Hans

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0374s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb