6 Weeks in Oz, and 1 Special, Wet Girl


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania
April 10th 2011
Published: May 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Awesome Kookaburra PicAwesome Kookaburra PicAwesome Kookaburra Pic

I am sad that I cannot claim this. Damn you with your quick camera access
Some opportunities do not come around too often; so when they come, you grab them with both hands. I remember sitting in my job interview four years ago and hearing the words -

"A couple of the guys are currently working in Australia, stick around, that could be you"

And like Guinness, good things come to those who wait.

It took me approximately 93 seconds to agree to working in Sydney for 6 weeks. It would have been 92 seconds less, but I had to take a sip of water and look like the contemplation was something that I had rationally thought about. One which I had made a pseudo pros and cons list in my head and had weighed out my options -

PRO - you are about to go to Australia for a month and a half
CON - you don't think of cons when you go with your gut

The decision was made.

After arriving, learning to drive on the other side of the road, buying delicious seafood at the seafood stand every night, and working 13 hour days, I was settled. Almost Australian.

The weeks were long, and the weekends even longer. Wild kangaroos, live Aussie rules football games and Blue Mountains filled my time for a while...and then it happened.

I lost my virginity - travel virginity that is

Traveling with a person is like looking into their soul. You see the good, the bad and the honest, brutal truth of a personality. I feel that living with a significant other does not stand the test of travel, especially at a young age. Yes, you see a person in the groggy state of morning unpreparedness. Yes, you may bare witness to a habit which you were not aware of and yes, you may even find the hair in the drain or the nail clippings on the bathroom counter. But travel takes all of this and throws in a whirlwind of pressure, making decisions on the spot and foreign people...ow the foreign people. Travel is raw, it is the bare bones of a human being, laid out for you to see, analyze and assess. You offer yourself, no makeup, no screens or flashy lights. You

Lexi had decided to come visit and not a day too late. It was about time that we experienced the adventure of spending 24 hours of the day together, with only Australia's furry creatures to keep the peace. Luckily, Lexi really likes furry creatures.
We caught the first plane to Tasmania, a wild island off of the Southern coast of mainland Australia, and made our way to a unique and beautiful part of the world. After grabbing a pink Nissan Micra (smallest toy car of all time) we set on our merry way. And then, "it started raining, and it didn't quit for four days. We been through every kind of rain there is. Little bitty stingin' rain... and big ol' fat rain. Rain that flew in sideways. And sometimes rain even seemed to come straight up from underneath." Tassie...it rains there. That should be their motto

One must always remember, humans were made to withstand rain. Luckily our skin has been made waterproof, which allows you to trek through hours of it to see a beach which isn't too profound when buckets are hitting you in the face, but that is beside the point. We fed kangaroos, experienced wombats at unexpected hours and ate pies...SO...MANY...PIES.

In the end, I looked inside of a special wet girl and I saw a woman who I have professed my abided love and devotion to. So much so, that I look forward to her morning unpreparedness, for it is that which makes me get up and make her a coffee. I look forward to finding her annoying habits, for those habits are what make her unique. I look forward to waking up with her in all the countries of the world with the anticipation of living that exact traveling whirlwind every single day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Sydney Swans GameSydney Swans Game
Sydney Swans Game

The swan: a beautiful creature, but deadly!
The LyreBirdThe LyreBird
The LyreBird

A symbolical spectacle of the Blue Mountains


18th May 2011

Congratulations on photo of the week
Great shot! Can't wait to read more of your blogs.

Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb