Tasmanian Fever


This journal has been deleted.
COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom



Comments only available on published blogs

11th March 2006

Ceding my title
Yes, I've been feeling it coming on for the last several years, what with Sarah doing weddings and European cities, and Alice photographing her entire cross-country camping trip and now her Seattle area jaunts, not to mention her year in Tasmania. But I can no longer ignore what is staring me square in the face in this blog tonight...it's time for me to cede my title as the family photographer. I bow to you, oh Andy, and declare, in the words of Wayne and Garth, "I'm not worthy! I'm not worthy!" Those are some doggone beautiful photos, boy! Wow! Thank you for taking them and sorting through them and including them in the blog. My only disappointment is that you didn't see more of Hobart...couldn't Stew have taken you to that great market? Or the waterfront area where the shops are and the boats tie up? Or the maritime museum? Or the Uni bookstore, where you could have gotten me a Uni of Tassie sweatshirt?! Or the Antarctic museum place, where there's a penguin habitat (or something)? Oh well, next visit. Alice and I are already saying we want to go there to hike the Bay of Fires someday...you can come with us, I guess. If you're nice to us. And give us reprints of your great photos!
11th March 2006

I'm so relieved
you weren't able to make it to the Cadbury's Factory! I knew it was a favorite spot of Alice's and that she probably suggested you go see it. When I read the following on the AP wire, I desperately tried to warn you away from it and their products (didn't you get my e-mails?!?) "In early 2006 the Cadbury confectionery company launched a world-wde recall of three flavors of its chocolate eggs after a consumer was cut on the inside of the mouth by a piece of plastic found in one of those confections." I lay awake nights wondering whether you would have been wounded by picking Caramilk, Caramilk Maple, or Caramilk Cafe in the three-, six- or twelve-egg multipacks. But I probably shouldn't have worried. You have proven to be an exellent travel planner and sight seer. I bet would have asked if Cadbury's chocolate had bits of sharp plastic for ingredients. BTW- What is it with you and Jumping Up in the Air? Almost every blog has a picture of you airborne somewhere? Isn't the view from your height enough already??;>
12th March 2006

Bwidge
Andy, the "steering house" is known as "the bridge". The bathroom is called "the head". Can't wait to see you back at Am'erst. Booya.
15th March 2006

traveling alone
Wow, Andy. I am really impressed with all this travelling alone, planning your own trip and everything. For Spring Break, too! I think it takes a special (in a good way) kind of person to do all that. You have to have a good mix of being able to fend for yourself, as well as being able to strike up a conversation with somebody you do not know at all, when necessary. Well done. I'm back at Amherst and living in the Zu with Ariel and Riyad. That's pretty awesome, but school sucks. Soon I'll be in Savannah though for Spring Break! I'll say hello to the beach there for you, and tell it you have been galavanting around with other beaches in other hemispheres. Peace, Alexx
24th March 2006

The True Tassie
Ah...finally! I got to read this wonderful blog about my second homeland! What fun you had, Andy - I'm glad you remembered so many details and interesting facts about the magical land down under Down Under. Did you meet any two-headed Tasmanians? Perhaps you forgot that the convict island off Strahan is actually called Sarah Island (another sister to tribute, methinks), and also...I'm kicking myself not for telling you this before, but inside the Dove Lake boathouse (that dilapidated hut you have pictured above), I carved my initials into the back of it after I completed the 8-day trek along the Overland Track. I know, not the most mature thing to do, but I really wish I would have told you so you could have taken a picture of THAT! Talk about time travel! But you had so many cool experiences anyway, it takes me back just reading your blog. Thank you, dear brother. We will return together someday to raft the Franklin, walk the Bay of Fires, hike up the Hazards and trek the Southwestern Route!

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0198s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb