Merry Ozmas!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
July 17th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Mt WellingtonMt WellingtonMt Wellington

Just up from Hobart
Why hello!

Been too long, hasn’t it? I know, but I have a good excuse - been super busy teaching at a couple different schools here, and it has been great to get back at it. Finally making some money too! Not too shabby.
Anyways, besides that not much has happened. Still sailing a lot and learning more and more each time I go. I get my certification as a pirate any day now. I’m also taking some of my free time to write a book. I always wanted to and now I have the chance. I’m 78,000 words in, should be done between 90-100kw words. Then I’ll try and get it published (hopefully). If that doesn’t work, I am going to self publish as an E-Book. So hopefully all you with iPads and Kindles will buy a copy and help me out (you know you want to!).
Ozmas was a few weeks ago and Nina and I celebrated the holiday seasons with some friends. We had a tree up and turkey and Xmas cookies and glüwein and we watched How the Grinch Stole Christmas. Bizarre, but an Aussie experience that can’t be missed. (By the way, Ozmas is essentially Christmas in Aussie Winter. Makes more sense than having XMas in the middle of the sweltering summer, right?).
Yesterday me and two buddies went for a crazy hike up a mountain near Hobart. The snow was knee to waist deep in some places (yes, snow in Australia) and the trail we were on was barely existent - no footprints in the snow to mark the way as we were the first ones to do it since the snow fell here a few weeks ago. Amazing views up there, and we even saw a couple wallabies and a bandicoot playing in the snow.
That’s all for now. Back to Vancouver in December for a few weeks!



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Collin's BonnitCollin's Bonnit
Collin's Bonnit

Didn't make it to the top, but most of the way.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb