Hockey Night in Tasmania


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
October 24th 2010
Published: October 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Yea yea I know, I haven't done the greatest job keeping you all up to date with the happenings down under, but I only just got the internet, and that's a decent enough excuse I think.

So lets do the news first. Nina and I now have a two bedroom house in a suburb of Hobart called Sandy Bay. Very nice!

I also mentioned in my last blog that I was thinking about getting a cellphone, and usually I back down when I this thought crosses my mind. (Un)fortunately I finally have one. I don't know if you've heard of it, but it's apparently called an iPhone. I don't think many people have them. It has a whole ton of useless things on it that you don't need but use nonetheless…

The past few weeks have been fun. Nina and I have been exploring. We spent a couple days driving around trying to go to as many towns as possible. Good News! I am now 100% capable and confident of driving on the wrong side of the road, and I haven't hit a wombat or a possum yet.

First we started at this national park north of Hobart, where we had our first encounter with wildlife that wasn't squished on the side of the road. We met a little pademelon wandering through the woods. They are some kind of wallaby, but a bit smaller. Very cute and friendly, but a bit clumsy. I watched the little guy try to hop up onto a log, but it slipped off and face-planted into the ground. It back got up, brushed itself off, then looked at us with this embarrassed "oh no, they saw me do that" expression on its face. Priceless.

Then we headed south to these towns called Huonville and Cygnet to explore. Lots of vineyards and orchards, and they looked vaguely similar to the Shire in Lord of the Rings, but as far as I know, the locals didn't have hairy feet.

Anyways, Nina is now off in the boonies of New South Wales looking at rocks, so I'm here by myself. Still no furniture yet except two barstools we picked up. Fortunately there are plenty of great people here to hang out with as I wait for the missus to come home.

Today me and a bunch of Canadians, an American, a Russian
Antarctic ShipAntarctic ShipAntarctic Ship

Docked in Hobart, awaiting its next trip down south.
and an Irishman rented the local ice rink (the only one in Tasmania) for a couple of hours and had an epic game of hockey. With the stereo blasting Tragically Hip and Guess Who songs, we overcame the puddles and general wobbliness of the ice of this small but great rink and had a blast. Gretzky posters even covered the walls! A little slice of home where you'd least expect it. We are going to play again soon, and we may even form a team for the local league. I expect nothing but absolute victory on our behalf, otherwise we may not be allowed back home.

Well that's it for now. Should have some good stories next time, as we should have a car/truck by then, and will be able to see more of this beautiful place.

Ciao

P.S. The liquour stores here are called 911. Australia's convict past?


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Clifton BeachClifton Beach
Clifton Beach

Will come back, good surfing.
Russell FallsRussell Falls
Russell Falls

Mt. Field National Park
The PademelonThe Pademelon
The Pademelon

I shall name him Oliver.
Fresh Snow on Mt. WellingtonFresh Snow on Mt. Wellington
Fresh Snow on Mt. Wellington

Yes, it can snow in Australia.
The View atop Mt. WellingtonThe View atop Mt. Wellington
The View atop Mt. Wellington

Looking south towards Antarctica. Can you see it? I can't...
Weird RocksWeird Rocks
Weird Rocks

Mt. Wellington is made from this. Nina tried to explain it all to me but I ran away.
Hockey Night in TasmaniaHockey Night in Tasmania
Hockey Night in Tasmania

Our lovely local rink.
Some of the teamSome of the team
Some of the team

Pictured in front of a mural of Mark Messier (of all people) and who we assume is Elvis Stojko with breasts.


24th October 2010

Hey Frazer!
It looks like you are having a ball! But are you behaving yourself?? Luv, Irene
25th October 2010

NO FREAKIN' WAY!!!
Dude, all of this is so awesome, looks and sounds like you're having a blast! I love the ice rink, so random that they have one! Guess what? I can't be totally positive, because I couldn't find any photos, but I'm pretty sure that your house is the exact same house that my cousin Joce lived in when she and her husband lived in Hobart! I totally recognize the front gate! WTF??? What are the odds! This is good news for you two, because they loved the place and I'm sure it has some awesome residual vibes from them, cuz they're pretty rad peeps. So cool, I'm so stoked for you both! Take care and keep on givin 'er! Kat
27th October 2010

Happy Days in Hobart
Sounds like you are having a great time. I love reading your blog - keep on writing!!! Big love to you and Nina. xooxoxoxo
13th November 2010

Hi there Fraz. great to read your blog and hear that you guys are settling in down under and that hockey is alive and well.
28th November 2010

Amazing!
Loved the pictures, Frazer! Did you poke the pademelon with a stick? Dija? Or look at its poo? I have certain expectations, here...

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb