Rain


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
January 31st 2004
Published: January 31st 2004
Edit Blog Post

The weather did not improve upon arrival in Hobart, the state capital of Tasmania. The entire time I was there it rained, leaving me feel totally unsure of what to do - I really didn't want to go outside, yet I didn't want to stay in the hostel all day - so I went to my old favourite, another Museum!! It was another good museum, with loads of displays on snakes and spiders, but I've been to far too many - why do they all have free entry?! Hobart itself struck me as a poorer city than those I had already seen. Whether this was due to the fact that there were grey skies and rain rather than sun, I do not know - but the buildingsseemed older and not as well maintained as those inthe other Australian cities. Could be, coming from such scenic places, that I was  seeing a city with new eyes. It was strange, wandering the city  seeing terrist houses,  floods of nostalgia pouring into me. Who would have thought it! Seeing these buildings on Salamanca Place, and wandering past the boats moored at Battery Point made me forget all about the bad weather, and gave me a bit of enthusiasm to see things... that is until my umbrella (broken, repaired twice over already) finally gave up the ghost and had to be thrown away. It served me well - God rest it's soul. After this I couldn't really think what I wanted to do in the rain, and had the thought - what do all the backpackers in the UK do nearly every other day? Surely not just drink coffee and read for a year.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1097s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb