My time in Tassie


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Tasmania » Hobart
December 29th 2008
Published: December 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So it's my last full day in Tassie...flying up to Townsville tomorrow for New Year. So excited to meet up with Hannah Mac, who is currently flying over from Aberdeen, and Suzie, but am sad to be leaving the Young family.

Tassie is beautiful - have loved being here for the past 12 days. Time has flown by! Brian, Yvonne, Alan, Neil and Alex have made me so welcome and I've had lots of fun spending time with them all. The boys have been teaching me the rules of grid iron (NFL) and I even tried throwing the ball around in the garden (badly!). Yvonne and I have been shopping a few times, once in the city and twice at Salamanca market. I'm now kitted out with lots of surf clothes! Before Xmas we drove up to the top of Mount Wellington and got some stunning views of the area. Xmas was fab...much more relaxed than in the UK. Was very weird opening the curtains on Xmas morning to see bright sunshine! Thank you to everyone who sent me cards/presents and messages!

Had a great day yesterday - Yvonne, Brian and I went down to see the yachts finishing the Sydney to Hobart race and got to go right up to the winner - Wild Oats - and the runner-up - Skandia. Then we went to The Taste and sampled some Tasmanian food and wine (mostly the wine if I'm honest!!) Later on I met Alex and we watched the Tasmania v Victoria 20/20 cricket match.

So tonight is my last night here but I'm coming back in February before going back to work as a jillaroo. Yvonne has very kindly offered to let me leave stuff here (there's no way it's going to fit in my backpack!!!) so this is now my "home away from home". Can't wait to come back and explore more of Tassie...there's still lots to see and do!




Advertisement



29th December 2008

Hi It Is Me - mum
Hi Sands - great to get the 11th Blog - jope you realize I check them every day! You obviously loved Tasmania - and I am delighted to hear that you are going to revisit in Feb. Hope you meet up with Hannah and Susie okay - give us a shout to know that all is well. GAve Taz a cuddle today - and an apple. Farrier reshod front feet and I have booked him to come early April again. Keep enjoying the Oz experience! Love you heaps. Mum XXX
31st December 2008

Happy New Year
Hi Alex Glad to hear that you enjoyed Christmas in Tasmania sounds great and so laid back. I have also read your mum's comment- she said that she would leave a "public" one. She's getting really good on the computer! We also had a good time at Christmas. The kids are off to a celidh in the Lemon Tree tonight so I hope that their hangovers won't be too bad for the family get together tomorrow. Met your mum last Monday for lunch and she was in good spirits- she does check your blog etc daily- I think she travels every step of the way with you. I hope that you enjoy taking welcoming in 2009 in warmer climes than here- no snow but -11 in Nairn and Inverness- we're relatively warmer at -3! Take care and God bless- keep safe. Yvonne x

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb