Port Germein - Not just for Local People


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Port Pirie
October 30th 2010
Published: January 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It was another long, long drive from Coober Pedy until we reached civilisation at Port Augusta. It had rained so much that the city had flooded and caused what looked like a brown swimming pool to form across the road. Australia...you can't handle the rain.

The journey continued on to Port Germein. The home of the longest wooden jetty in the Southern Hemisphere... and not much else.

As we pulled into the camp, there was an old rusty bicycle chained to a tree reading 'emergency vehicle only'. In any other town, I would have taken this as a joke but here, I wasn't so sure.

Because of the rain, we couldn't sleep in our swags so were given a chalet type thing with two rooms. One with three bunks all piled on top of each other and one with... a double bed!

"Who's getting the double bed?"

"Me me me." And so I ran out of the bus, launched myself onto the bed at super high speed and... "shotgun." Oh yeah! Given that without Sarah, I wouldn't have enjoyed this trip half as much as I did, I probably should have offered to share it with her. But I just couldn't bring myself to do it (sorry Sarah, I've done this to you again since... 😊

It was a Saturday night so that meant pub time! I'm pretty sure I heard someone say that there wasn't another pub for another 100km so the pub opposite it was then!


We walked in and every single person in the pub turned and started at us, watched us order our drinks and stared a little more. I wouldn't have been surprised if someone had turned around and said 'this is a pub for local people' a la League of Gentlemen. They didn't though and everyone turned out to be really friendly. We spent the evening with a group of locals who couldn't believe that we'd all come from overseas to visit Port Germein! They were so sweet and it was a perfect ending to my journey through the middle of Australia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb