The overnight stay at Moonta bay,Yorke peninsula.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Moonta Bay
December 29th 2016
Published: December 29th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Moonta bay, situated on the western shores of the Yorke Peninsula, in South Australia is a place I'd recommend if you are on a low budget. The road trip took place from my hometown of Whyalla, South Australia a 3.5 hour car journey. This was one of two places that I stayed at whilst visiting the Yorke Peninsula. Arriving on the Friday 1st July 2016 in my Holden commodore my first port of call was the bakery, which is on the main street. I stopped to have lunch there and was quite impressed with the quality of the meat pie and cream bun, which are all made on site. After about half an hour I drove 10 mins to the caravan, where I set up my swag. The swag only took 5 minutes to set up, which is why I chose the swag over purchasing a tent. It was the first time I used this swag and was a little poky, but still comfortable. The caravan park amenities were second to none and I especially liked their upgraded camp kitchen with a 50'' LCD TV on the wall. It was only a one night stay but as you'll see from the photos, Moonta is a lovely beachside town. The weather was a little chilly, the wind blowing strongly from the south west. I went for a leisurely walk along the beach, enjoying the scenery as I went along. There was lots of people around the place, but despite this the town of 681 residents was quite peaceful. For dinner I had pizza bought from the supermarket. The tourists and locals were both very friendly and I recommend those who visit South Australia to definitely pay Moonta a visit. It is very family friendly. The next day I went on to Ardrossan, which I'll talk about in my next blog.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb