Kangaroo Island


Advertisement
Published: April 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Remarkable RocksThe Remarkable RocksThe Remarkable Rocks

A hollow shell of a rock- we felt we had to jump inside!
Day two on the great KI (short for Kangaroo Island obviously!). We had to get up early but the bacon and eggs were a good incentive! We started the day by going to see the Remarkable Rocks. They were very funny shapes and remarkable because they were so huge yet only had a few points actually balancing them on the cliff. As you may be able to see in some of the pics.

Our next stop was Admirals Arch New Zealand Fur Seal Colony. The views as we walked around the bay were breathtaking and it was fun trying to spot all the seals as they were well camouflaged against the rocks. After that we went to Flinders Chase National Park for a platypus walk. We had to follow a trail and came across lots of ponds where the platypus lived. We had to be incredibly quiet as they were easily scared away. We saw a few surface which was exciting and I managed to get a good photo of one too. At the end of the trail we had lunch and then some time to look around the souvenir shop. We also decided to have a little sit
Don't move!Don't move!Don't move!

We were holding up this rock entirely by our own strength!
down with a piece of cake- yummy.

In the afternoon we went to the beach. We decided to collect shells and make a shell picture in the sand. (Such girly girls!!) Then some of us thought we'd have a game of beach cricket which was fun. We saw some dolphins playing in the sea too but I was too slow with my camera to get a photo. A couple of fishermen came ashore to mingle. We had the whole beach to ourselves which was nice.

Our last activity for the day was by far the most exciting but also the most exhausting! We went to Little Sahara (yes this is exactly what it sounds like- a little Sahara desert!). We had the use of sand boards and sledges to use on the dunes. It was so high and knackering getting up there but lots of fun coming down! I sledged first and couldn't believe how fast I went. Then I tried sandboarding which I have to admit scared the cr*p out of me at first- looking over the edge with a waxed up board on my feet. I thought I might fall. Of course this was a silly thought- of course I was going to fall, I've never even stepped foot on a skateboard or snowboard before! So yes- a few seconds after leaving the edge I was on my arse with my knickers full of sand! An interesting experience for sure! I had another go and did a bit better but decided to stick to the effortless, fun filled sledging! (An idea Laura had thought of without the humiliation of falling on her arse!)

So we watched the sun set over the sand dunes and then went back to the farm for dinner. That night we had a campfire outside which we ate our dinner around then played some silly games. We also went in and did a Tim Tam Slam. Something I have done before but was definitely up for doing again. You have to bite off two opposite corners of your tim tam and use it as a straw with a hot drink then when you taste the drink you shove the whole thing in your mouth and enjoy the taste explosion that is a Tim Tam Slam! The number of "mmm's" and "ahhhh's" around the table were funny and Laura really enjoyed hers
Admirals ArchAdmirals ArchAdmirals Arch

The natural arch surrounded by seals
too. Yummy.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Awwhhh!Awwhhh!
Awwhhh!

How cute
My very good photo of the platypusMy very good photo of the platypus
My very good photo of the platypus

There one minute, gone the next!
Our shell picture!Our shell picture!
Our shell picture!

By Beccy and Laura!
The REAL ActionThe REAL Action
The REAL Action

The tim tam slam!


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0623s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb