the journey begins - sort of


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
May 16th 2006
Published: May 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step, even if it is a step backwards. Which is why I am in Adelaide, my first home. I am here to say goodbye to people, especially my mother, and to hide from the storm before the storm. I was supposed to spend this week organising stuff, writing ambitious to-do lists is about as far as I have got.

It was quite prudent to make my first step a baby one, I clearly havent found my travelling legs yet. For some reason I thought 45 mins would be plenty of time to get from my house to the airport, by public transport. A very expensive, and very tense taxi ride later I did manage to make my flight...just. I owe my good fortune to an elderly woman with asthma, an unlikely saviour. What I learnt, however, is that one must always be humble when estimating how long it will take to get from A to B. An Important lesson that could have easily cost more than $40, some substantial chucks of fingernail and two pairs of scissors (aka deadly weapons)

The family all went out for dinner on Monday night, to celebrate various things. I pushed for anything other than Chinese food, but, despite all three of us being native South Australians, Chinese was all we could find. It was very good Chinese though, if anyone plans to visit Adelaide (god forbid) T-Chow on Gouger St is the best Chinese food this side of the equator*

*except many of the Asian countries this side of the Equator with high Chinese populations, maybe China Town in Melbourne and possibly the Sydney equivelant, neither of which I have explored extensively.

Tomorrow I am going out to catch up with some old friends and eat a world famous schnitzel, fabled to be as big as your head. I will let you know how the eyes versus stomach debacle pans out.

Chow

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0726s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 10; ; mem: 1.1mb