Food, Fun, and Fountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
March 11th 2011
Published: April 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The City



Unfortunately my camera battery died by this part of the trip, and I had grabbed my multi-charger, thinking it had an extension for my camera. This thing can charge a DS, iPod, PSP, cell phone, kindle, and what might be a printer ... but not my camera.

After 10 days of consecutive travel, I was a bit tired, so I did not have the energy to devote to exploring the city that Adelaide really deserves.

What I can say, from the small amount I explored, is that this is a beautiful city, and a photographer's dream. The city is sprawling, so you can only adequately explore maybe a third in any given day, and that's if you are really gung-ho. The small section I explored, in the southeastern corner of the main city, was full of fountains, statues, and beautiful botanic gardens. The gardens surround the city (mostly in the north), and we spent a very short half-hour in one of the smaller gardens without even scratching the surface.

Aside from my favorite activity of exploring the beautiful free gardens and architecture, there is also a lot of cheap enteratainment in Adelaide. The Adelaide Fringe, a cultural arts festival, happened to be going on when I was in town, so I enjoyed many street performers and some incredibly cheap theater tickets.

Tumble Circus: This is what we do



For a measly $A15, which is less than what I pay to watch a movie in the cinema here, I got to enjoy a fantastic show. This couple acts out their relationship via acrobatics and juggling. If that isn't enough to get you in the door, they also involve the crowd during their "fights". It's truly an amazing show, which was simultaneously intriguing, heart-wrenching, sexy, and absolutely hilarious.

Food



South Australia is famous for its wineries, and the wine tour I took wasn't a disappointment. The Barrossa Valley has the right climate and soil to grow some fabulous wine grapes. If you are 18 or older, I recommend taking a tour.

I also met the author of Gimpy Guide which is a free blog detailing the accessibility of various tourist spots for those with any sort of movement impeding injury. Whether you have a broken foot, or MSD, this guide will likely help you figure out the best way to enjoy the town. Check it out!

Adelaide also has several cultural districts that specialize in international cuisine. The prices of some places are a bit higher than Melbourne, since there is less competition, but the dining is still incredibly affordable and a high quality for the price. Let's just say this trip has made returning to Townsville a bit difficult, where I pay $A12 for nachos, and $A30 for a poorly cooked steak with chips (french fries).






Advertisement



Tot: 0.339s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.2601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb