The Adelaide Alternator


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
January 13th 2008
Published: January 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bless SheilaBless SheilaBless Sheila

So glad she got us to a city before she gave up!
Sun 2nd Dec:
After a reasonable nights sleep I had no choice but to do my laundry but as not feeling 100% thought it would be ok to drive the 1.5km to launderette. Spent so quality time getting my clothes clean which was no easy task after coming from the Red Centre. Loaded the car and went to set off...... or not. Sheila wasn't playing ball at all. Did the helpless female thing and got the guy in the launderette to give me a push. He thought I may be able to reverse bump start it on the small pull in I was parked on, I was more dubious but thought I'd go with it. Funnily enough, it didn't work although I only stopped inches from the opposite wall! He then started to push along the road and fortunately 3 other guys came along to prevent him having a coronary! We got around the corner but to no avail.
I then had to walk back to the motel to retrieve the breakdown information. Fortunately the wait wasn't to long so I hot footed it back to Sheila to meet Mr Breakdown. Not a long wait before he arrived and got old Sheila started. He drove off with me closely behind. what he didn't notice was that I was running on kangaroo juice (no Oz pun intended), I was jumping all over the place. By the time he turned the corner I'd stopped again but without any power the horn wouldn't work, grrr!
Ran across the road to pay phone and had to get him called back. He then attached some massive contraption to the battery and then had to follow me back to the motel. The alternator had died so he got me back to the motel. Of course, being a Sunday, I wouldn't find a part so had to leave it until tomorrow.
Strolled into the city in the evening to meet Laz and Hayley for dinner. Was feeling pretty exhausted after todays drama and wanted to make maximum use of my luxury room.

Sun 3rd Dec:
Had to ring first thing to track down a replacement alternator and then call breakdown to get a tow truck to get me there! Had a mad rush to get packed up and checked out but times in perfectly and was ready just in time. Arrived at the garage by 1000 and was told an hour wait whilst they fixed poor old Sheila. Took the opportunity to update my journal (obviously alot longer to get it to my blog!!!) The typical Oz hour was actually 3 but I eventually hit the road and headed back to Glenelg to pick up Laz and Hayley for the next part of the roadtrip.
we got out of Adelaide (not easy) and then stopped for some food. Time was cracking on so we got 5 hrs of driving under our belts then stopped in a nice hotel in Mt Gambier for the night. Quick feed from the supermarket and we were done for the night.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0626s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb