Adelaide - A Pleasant Surprise


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
December 9th 2007
Published: December 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After arriving back from a month in SE Asia I made a brief pit stop in Perth to pick up my gear and say farewell to Freo for a while. By coincidence, I'll be in Sydney the same time as Paul and his family so I'll say goodbye to them in Manly.

With Western Australia behind me I arrived in Adelaide, South Australia. Most people I've talked to have ripped Adelaide apart for being an ugly, boring city. I went in expected the worst and was pleasantly surprised by it. The whole downtown area sits in a 1 square mile area surrounded by four 1 mile terraces labeled North, South, East, West accordingly. I gave myself 2.5 days to explore Adelaide which turned out to be just enough. Turns out about 1/4 of the town fit in to the "pleasant surprise" category. Along the North terrace there were parks, botanical gardens, sidewalk cafes, open air markets, nice older architecture, a beautiful university, pedestrian malls, etc. Overall just very pleasant. I hit it on a Sunday with shoppers out in full force. After seeing Australia, I don't feel so horrible about America having a consumer driven Christmas...Australia is exactly the same.

My days spent here were basically just wandering around. I toured all the museums, (which were free), drank coffee while people watching and then did it some more. I can't say it was wildly exciting, but not as bad as people explained. I saw "Into The Wild" which turned out to be an awesome movie....see it if you get a chance. From Adelaide I'd catch a dreaded NIGHT BUS to Melbourne 11 hours away.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

CoinsCoins
Coins

These coins were everywhere. There had to be 100's of dollars...but on one could get them up.
Family PhotoFamily Photo
Family Photo

The Hollicks (Ned, Kate, Tim, Paul) & Patrick...Pauls bastard love child from the 80's
Wedding SeasonWedding Season
Wedding Season

Wedding photos everywhere


Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb