Adelaide


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » South Australia » Adelaide
February 17th 2007
Published: February 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Having flown from Alice Springs to Adelaide, and booked myself into a lovely YHA, I decided to relax a bit and spent the next couple of days sunbathing on Glenelg Beach.

I then thought that I should see what Adelaide had to offer, and Elisa had told me that the wine produced around Adelaide is very popular, so I booked myself on a days tour to do Wine Tasting in the Barossa Valley. What a great day this was, we had a very entertaining tour guide JR, and a small, fun group of people. First winery was the famous Jacobs Creek which is one of the UK's most popular wines, and one of my favourite. We were taught what to look for in the colour of the wine, and then how to taste it. In all we visited 4 wineries and at each place we had 5 whites, 5 reds and a port, and because there were only half the usual amount of people we got to taste more wine than usual. As you can imagine we were pretty drunk by the end, and yes, we all fell asleep on the bus by the time we reached Adelaide.

Most of you know that I can't drink red wine, but I think I have been swayed back, but only to the Merlot. I would have bought a few bottles as it's so cheap to buy directly from the winery, but unfortunatley there's not enough room in my rucksack.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



23rd February 2007

Mmmmmm!
Hi Sarah, sounds like my ideal trip! Hope you had a glass or 3 for me!!! Miss you loads, lots of love Eve xxx

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb