Entering Queensland


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
April 6th 2017
Published: April 5th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Hello and welcome back!

Today I'm writing from the City of Brisbane, yes last time I was in Byron Bay so let me catch up a little.
I stayed the night in Byron Bay, I woke up quite early and decided to go to some local places before moving up North to much.
I drove through Byron Bay which is a very small and typical tourist place. To be honest I did not really like Byron Bay I got the feeling everyone was looking at you weird and did not feel welcomed at all. I must note it could be the bad weather also contributing to this which maybe made people more miserable.

First I headed towards the Byron Bay Lighthouse which itself was on a nice hill and overlooked Byron Bay.
It was still raining and quite windy so I had to wear my rain coat even though it was still hot outside the weather is quite odd to say the least. I enjoyed the walk to and from the lighthouse there were a couple of lookouts which had nice views.

Once I got back in the camper van I decided I would leave Byron Bay as I felt uncomfortable there. I headed towards a huge waterfall called Minyon falls. The road there was terrible it was only about 20 KM away from Byron Bay but man it was hard to get to. The road was not a road it was just gravel with huge holes in everywhere so it felt like an obstacle course with a camper van. I successfully got to the falls and woah, they were beautiful. It was about an 100 Metre fall and the ledge was hanging over the cliff so it was not the best for my fear of heights but it was great.

There were some walks down to the bottom of the falls and around the park but it said that would take about 5 hours return so I was not ready or willing to do that. After I left the falls and had to go back down the worst road ever I headed towards a place next to the Gold Coast called Natural Bridge, which is supposed to be a rock formation like a bridge formed by the water and apparently in the evening there are supposed to be fire flies and other glowing things to see in the area. However Once I arrived there it was closed 😞 It did not say why it was closed but i'm guessing it was because of Debbie. There were two other guys standing there when I arrived telling me it was closed and they were contemplating jumping the fence to see it anyway. I liked their idea and went on before them while they were waiting for the rain to get less.

I jumped the fence and continued to walk on the path and clearly came to the conclusion it was probably a better idea to head back, there were multiple signs saying go back and that it was dangerous and trespasses would be fined. I continued on a little ore hoping I could get a glimpse of it but then as the path became more dangerous I decided to head back and there were the other two guys coming along the path, I told them what I saw and that I was heading back.

They continued on more while I went back, I really wanted to see it but I don't know if death or a huge fine is worth it to me haha. I drove towards Gold Coast, The road from Byron Bay to the Gold Coast is amazing. I went on roads through the mountains and everything was just so beautiful. Now there were parts where you could only use one side of the road as there were rocks that had fallen on tot the road from the Cyclone but nothing that I could net drive passed.

There are a lot of roads where it says there are flood warnings but I had not yet seen anything yet, until at some point I reach a part where there is basically a river coming over the road, I noticed that on the far right side it was not as high so I was deciding whether I was going to try and cross it. I moved to the right side of the road and of course another car appears. I'm on his side of the road still contemplating to cross or not, the other car flashed his lights and I decided to just go for it. I slowly crossed the river on the right side of the road waved at the other car and went on my way again.

I arrived in the Gold Coast which is beautiful, It has a nice beach where everyone is surfing. Every part of cold coast has awesome names, I went to surfers paradise and drove through places called Miami. It's a nice City I walked around a bit and watched everyone surfing, I decided I needed a place to sleep as it was getting late. I hopped back in the car and drove another hour to get in to Brisbane where I am now.
Tomorrow I'll be headed in to the City of Brisbane!

Thank you for reading! once again if you have questions about anything or want photos of certain things just ask me!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0652s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb