Australia - East Coast - Airlie Beach and The Whitsundays


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland
April 15th 2010
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post


Hey all!

Another treat for you, two postings in one day........!

AIRLIE BEACH
Sunday 11th April
On this fine Sunday, where you were all probably enjoying the sunshine in the UK (Mum & Dad showed me how lovely it looked out the window at home when I Skyped with them before leaving the hostel), Caryl and I were crammed on a 11 hour night bus from Cairns to Airlie Beach. So far we had been lucky with the long bus journeys as had always had two seats to ourselves but this time we were together, not that I mind sitting next to Caz, just makes it harder to sleep!!! We had no films this time so straight to sleep until we got woke up at 2.45am for a meal stop (they are for the bus driver rather than us - they are allowed to drive up to 16 hours with only minimal breaks) and we had to get off the bus because 2 weeks ago a woman had all her valuables stolen as she got off the bus and someone else stayed on (why didn't she take them with her!!!!!). I had to have a word with the bus driver because for the past 2 hours I'd been so hot, which is unusual for me, I'm normally freezing. The driver said it was set at 27 degrees because people normally complain it being too cold (that's hotter than we have the heating at home in the UK during winter!) and as he wanted it cooler turned it down by 3 degrees, nobody complained and it was a bit better. We were stopped for half an hour before getting on the bus to continue the journey. We both slept on and off, waking every now and again because something or other was stiff or hurting, and didn't feel too tired the next day. The scenery when I woke up was a bit different, but what they say about Australia is right, there is a lot of the same, it's nice same though. We arrived into Airlie Beach at 11am and couldn't check in until 12.30 so went for a wander. It was so hot, not humid hot like Cairns, but PROPER boiling hot! We looked in some shops and got some groceries and had a look at the lagoon (again no real beach at Airlie Beach so there is a lagoon like in Cairns and Brisbane) and then went back to check-in. Once we were showered and sorted we met up with Davide (from Caryl's previous tour and our trip from Adelaide to Alice Springs, who we'd also been out with in Cairns) for a couple of drinks. It was really nice to see him but I was not very well (migraine, again, that's pretty much 10 days in a row now) and when it got too much I had to go and have a sleep which was a shame as Davide was leaving that afternoon. I woke up after 3 hours in a bit of a daze, Caz and I made some dinner in the AWFUL hostel kitchen which was so hot and full of washing up that nobody had done. It was really nice to bump into Sam though, from the Kiwi Experience. After dinner we sorted our stuff for our Whitsundays' trip and went to bed.


THE WHITSUNDAYS
Monday 12th April
We had a lie in the did some shopping before going to the marina at 12.45pm to board our 'yacht', called 'Prima'. On first impressions of Prima was that it was REALLY small and we were not sure how we were going to fit on it. But it was a beautiful sunny day and we were going sailing so all cool. There were 9 on us on the boat and 2 crew, Steve the skipper and Aleana the host/cook/decky. There was also Michael and Carolyn (from the USA), Bret and Lisa (from Canada) and three Swiss girls; I'm still struggling with their names. Caryl and I were shown into our 'double ensuite' which Caryl describes as a cupboard. We were not sure how we would fit in there! We didn't have time to stop though as Steve did the safety briefing and we were on our way. We went up on the top deck and chilled out in the sunshine, it was lovely. The scenery was pretty and we could see the Islands in the distance. It got very exciting when we saw something jumping in the distance, at first we thought dolphins but Aleana thought more likely a manta ray. Then we did see dolphins, right alongside the boat, they were jumping out playing, I was lucky to get an action shot. We also saw flying fish (I didn't realise they actually flew, for a good 10 seconds across the top of the water) and a huge turtle below the surface. There were not many other boats which was nice. We did see one that is now used for sailing that had been through World Wars I & II and transported Hitler. We stopped off at a cove for everyone to go snorkeling, Carolyn and I didn't go. I was not feeling very well (migraine, again) but it was fun to watch. They all loved it, am proud of Caryl as she's a bit anxious about it but still gets on and does it! We settled into a bay for the evening, were the only ones there. There was a pretty sunset that made the water sparkle. I got a shock when I looked towards something in one of the hatches and realised it was Caryl, who was in the shower!!! I could only see her head but really, someone should have warned us!!! We had dinner and played games around the dinner table in the gully. I was really rubbish, couldn't have been any worse so was out really early and sat up on deck where it was cooler (it was sweltering inside the cabin). It was silent other than the others laughter and the odd bird singing and crickets. We then heard the sound of something jumping, Steve said they were fish, we thought trying to catch insects on the surface but he thought more likely trying to escape from something.......apparently the next bay is well known for hammerhead and tiger sharks!!! We eventually braved going to bed (it was still REALLY hot) and it was not nice. It was cramped and hot and we were really bothered. We did sleep though.

Tuesday 13th April
We were up at 7.30 for breakfast and went over to the island that would give us a great view of Whitehaven Beach. There was a good view from the lookout point, the water was turquoise and the sand bright white, almost hurt your eyes. Its 98% silica so the purest form of sand, was used in the Hubble telescope. We walked (VERY slowly, as Aleana had told us we didn't need flip-flops!!) down to the beach. It was raining though which could have spoilt it but I thought no point complaining, I like the seaside in the rain anyway so I enjoyed it. The scenery was still pretty, but in comparison to New Zealand it doesn't seem as polished. The weather made everything really moody and it felt nice. We did get wet and cold though. So when we got back to the boat it was nice to have a hot cup of tea! We then set sail to find a good snorkeling point but as the sea was too rough it was a bit difficult. So, we had lunch and then they all (except Carolyn and I again) had a good snorkel. The sea was too rough for me, as I've said before I struggle with snorkeling at the best of times so didn't think it'd be a good idea in the rough sea. So, Carolyn taught me to play Crib. Crib has always intrigued me after watching people playing in the pub and I'm now a bit hooked. Especially as I beat Carolyn 2/2 times, the first time I had help as I was learning, the second time I didn't. I think it was beginners luck though!! Aleana then came back to the boat and offered to take Carolyn and I out on the tender (aka dinghy) which was cool (once we'd got in the tender, Aleana needed the loo and I had to stand in the tender and hold onto the side of the boat which was quite hard, was worried if I let go I'd never get back). We didn't see much more of what's under the water but I got some good pictures of Caryl for her. Then we 'battened down the hatches' (literally, we had to close all the hatches and secure all of our stuff) because we went for a 'proper good sail' as Aleana put it. It was brilliant!!! We all sat outside on the left side of the boat with our legs over (only slightly worried about sharks), got a bit wet (from the splashing of the waves over the boat) and scared (because the boat did lean quite a bit) - it was BRILLIANT!! I even started thinking I might not be so scared of the sea and could spend more time on boats. We then made our way into the cove in which we were spending the night. Steve called it the 'refuge' as it's where the boats go when it's going to be stormy because of winds coming from the 'south east'. It was also the 'shark' bay he'd told us about the night before... We had a nice dinner, with a surprise pudding of apple tart that Aleana had been talking up all day then played more games. I was not much better at spoons, out first again. We went to bed at about 11ish and although it wasn't so hot it was not fun. The winds were really strong and you could hear it whistling around all of the hills. The boat was really rocking and it seemed to get worse as the night went on. Everything on the boat was rattling and the sound of the water splashing against the side of the boat was really loud. And we could also hear things hitting the boat. The first time, Caryl had just finished trying to re-assure me that the boat wasn't going to sink and that we were therefore not going to be eaten by sharks (I was freaking a bit) and then there was this big thud on the bottom. Even she said "what was that?!". It would have had to be a pretty big fish, I'm telling you. I calmed down a bit and got to sleep but kept waking up every hour or so, the sound of the wind and waves seemed to get louder and the rocking of the boat stronger so I don't mind admitting I freaked out even more. Caz says I kept saying "Caz, are you awake? Do you think everything's all right?" and I was very close to going to sleep next to Steve on the deck! I guess I'm not so ready to live on a boat after all!!! I love the sea, find it fascinating but I am scared stiff of it.

Wednesday 14th April
I made it through the night, very tired though. We woke to glorious sunshine although it was still really windy so took the opportunity to sail with the wind back to Airlie Beach. The sea was even rougher than during yesterdays sail. The boat leaned over a long way (not sure how they don't tip over!) and we swell was quite big so if we hit a wave instead of riding it we got VERY wet. It was BRILLIANT though. The water was quite warm when it splashed us, not sure why as it was still very deep and can't have been the sun. We got into the marina at about 10.30ish, it was really nice sailing in there. It brought back memories of Guernsey and how me and Maff used to love going every evening to the harbour to watch the harbour master bringing the yachts into the marina (to be honest I still love it, when I go back to Guernsey now I insist on Mum & Dad taking me to the harbour to watch it). I told Steve this and he me he'd sailed all around the Channel Islands, so would have gone into that marina. As we came in we saw Tropical Penguins which look like penguins with bigger wings, they can fly. We then went and chilled by the lagoon, 'did lunch' with the others from the boat, went back to the lagoon and then got ready for another night bus. The night bus left at 6pm and we had 12 1/2 hours to Hervey Bay to look forward to then another 2 hours to Rainbow Beach. The sky was looking pretty stormy as we left Airlie Beach so probably not a bad idea to get going. We spent the evening on the bus reading, then stopped for dinner where I think everyone on the bus must have thought we were a bit mad as we were very hyper and kept doing clumsy things. We asked the driver if we could watch a film so he let us choose one, Vertical Limit (not good for anyone with a fear of heights!). Once that was finished we settled down to sleep. Although on 1st impressions that Greyhound bus seemed comfier than some of the others we'd been on, it wasn't easy to get comfy. I did not sleep well.

We are now in Rainbow Beach and will be going to Fraser Island tomorrow, very exciting.......!

Lots of love Xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb